1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£500 budget for better music.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Ultima, Mar 11, 2005.

1. Ultima

Ultima

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Hi

My current system is a cheapish home cinema unit (Yamaha AV70 Pack) which includes Yamaha AX-V350 Amp/Rec, S550 DVD Player and NS-P100 5.1 speakers.

I now want to increase the quality of music from my system and need your comments on my initial thoughts aswell as any ither suggestions.

The room is 14' x 12' and space is at a premium. My budget is approx £500.

My initial thoughts are as follows.

Replace the AX-V350 with a Yamaha DSPAX750SE, Mission M71 bookshelf speakers, and a Marantz CD5400 CD player.

Would this system improve the music quality? Would they work well together?

I am a newbie to all this so feedback would be much appreciated.

Regards

2. Ultima

Ultima

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +1,113
    Forgot to mention that I still require the Amp/Receiver to provide 5.1/DTS/Pro logic 2 for movies etc. Good stereo sound is also required.

3. Mango Bob

Mango Bob
    Standard Member

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have a DSP-AX750, I was quite pleased with its performance in stereo...then I upgraded my cable to homemade cat5 (from cheap cable) and I'm thrilled by it in stereo! Have a listen to one if you can in Pure Direct mode, but it's a very good stereo amp :thumbsup:

Can't advise on CD player, I'm using my toshiba DVD connected into the amps DACs and it's acceptable to me...future upgrades possible though!

Bear in mind that if you upgrade the fronts you should also upgrade the centre to a tonally similar speaker or sounds panning across left-centre-right will sound odd...the 750 has centre EQ setting to try to correct but your better off with a matching centre.

4. Ultima