£450 Receiver Sugesstions and Thanks for your postings!

J

Julia

I've made a bit of research, but I still don't have a clue which one to chose. :confused:

I'm just a hopeless newbie with regard to building a sound system and I'd appreciate all help.:)

I'd like a good Receiver for around £450 and any matching speakers sugesstions most welcome as well (I don't have a definite budget for speakers, so maybe around £400-£500).

Is it possible to get something THX certified at this price?

All ideas most welcome,

Thanks,
Julia:)

Yes, it's possible to get a THX approved AV receiver for under £450 - the Kenwood KRFX9060D. It's THX Select (not Ultra or Ultra2 - big money for these, well relatively speaking anyway).
As to whether I'd make the decision based simply around the presence of that badge - well that's an entirely different matter.

That said, the Kenwood has a high spec for the money, and although I've only heard it briefly, it sounded competent enough, - certainly on a par with others I've heard around the same price in multichannel mode. No idea about stereo music though, if that's an issue.
However, there's no shortage of alternatives for £450.

The new Marantz SR7300 can be pre-ordered for around £470 (a little overbudget, but not much), and the 6300/5300/4300 can all be obtained for less still.
Even the £300 SR4300 has a very decent spec for the money.
Denon, Yamaha and Sony are always worth a look too!

Personally, I'd draw up a list of receivers which will meet or exceed your needs. Things like, number and type of inputs, surround modes etc. Make sure that whatever you choose can accomodate what you want or are likely to want to connect to it. For example, if you need to connect 2 or more devices with a coax digital lead, there's no point buying a receiver which only has one digital coax input, unless you are happy with then spending more money on converters.