1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£350 to spend on camcorder

Discussion in 'Camcorders, Action Cams & Video Editing Forum' started by xbaseballshoes, Aug 16, 2003.

1. xbaseballshoes

xbaseballshoes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have the measley sum of £350 to spend on camcorder.
    i have a couple of questions,
    1. can i get a digital camcorder for this amount one that i can connect to the PC and upload stills and moving pictures(I've seen a format called "digital-8" but wasn't sure if it was true digital).
    2. what one should i buy if this money stretches to one.

sorry for the dumb questions, im a complete novice.
    Cheers for any help.

2. TommyVecetti

TommyVecetti

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    Digital 8 is digital. Just uses Hi-8 tapes instead of Mini-DV ones.

Things you need are DV in and DV-out so you can upload to your PC and then download back to tape afterwards. Although you can buy a DV-in enabler for about £40

3. xbaseballshoes

xbaseballshoes

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
  4. TommyVecetti

TommyVecetti

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
  5. TommyVecetti

TommyVecetti

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +95
    Cameras don't tend to come with a firewire cable, but you can get one from PC world for about £7.

6. MarkE19

MarkE19

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +2,393
    If your budget is tight then be careful if wanting to edit on the PC. This can add a large amount of money onto your budget before you even realise it. :devil:

To start with you will need a firewire port on your PC (from around £20 up and most PC's don't have them).