1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£350 for an amp?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers & Amplifiers' started by Cheng, Jan 8, 2003.

1. Cheng

Cheng

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +6
    Hi,

I'm thinking of the following for demoing, any recommendations?

• Yamaha RX-V630
    • Denon 1802 (or 1803)
    • Marantz 4200/4300

I've heard that the Yammy only has DTS in matrixed, and not discrete? What does this mean, I'm a newbie :confused:

Thanks.

2. Big_AL007

Big_AL007

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Not true I have one...

3. 7ThGuest

7ThGuest

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi Cheng

As always, and you will here that a lot on the forum, what are you most into movies or music. I personally am about 50/50 swaying towards music if really pushed.

The general concensus IMHO, and I have been doing a fair bit of research recently, is that the Yammy is a better movies machine (lots of DSP's if youwant/use them) but can still hold a reasonable tune.

Whereas the Marantz is a more musical amp but is still relatively good with movies. I went into my local RS today (Newcastle) and they were putting SR4300's out for £239:95 :D , needless to say I got one.

Different people/reviews say the Denon is OK with both but thats about all, I am sure there will be lots of people that will disagree.
    And that it is not a big enough upgrade from its predecessor the 1802.

As Big_AL007 has already stated they all come with 6.1 support, PLII, DD, DTS ES and a host of goodies.

You pays yer money and you takes yer chance. With everything though try and demo them.

I personally didn't today, I may regret that in the future but am willing to accept it especially with a 7/14 day return policy, but with only 7 units in the shop I didn't want to take the chance of missing out on a great deal :rolleyes: time will tell