Quantcast

£3000 budget for a multi use Hifi System

Wallaceandsons

Novice Member
Been lurking for ages, first post so here goes.

Back in the day I was a drum and bass Dj for many years, I have a large collection of over 3000 records of many different genres, but mostly electronic music. They are gathering dust, I still have my Technic 1200 Mk2, also gathering dust.

Now I have the budget, aforementioned, I want to wipe off the dust and start djing at home, as well as listening. Also I'd like to run my TV into the system.

I have 3k to spend, that's pretty flexible though. I've been watching alot of YouTube vids from Darko etc and I can't make a decision on what to buy.

Asthetics are important to me, I like the look of the Schitt range for example.

The room itself is 3m by 6m attic conversion with the classic slanted roof. Where the speakers would sit, I'm after a stereo set up, there is a one metre recess on either side of the shorter end wall.

I'm also a keen woodworker and have found, on soundimports.eu som floorstanders, flat pack Tritrix speakers for £450 that I'm pretty keen on as a project.

The rest of the chain I was considering was Aloo signature streamer, Schitt Multibit Dac, Schiit Freya+ (valve version), Crown XLS 1002 Power Amp.

The Turntables would also be running through a mixer.

What would you guys recommend? Should I buy self assembly speakers? Is this going to as flexible imas I need it to be?

drummerman

A million and one choices 🙂.

Kef ls50 wireless + sub from me. Includes some DSP for room variations. Add Schiit of choice.

Style and Power.

A bit like me ... 😁

Last edited:

Ugg10

Distinguished Member
If you have a mixer then a cheap dac could be added for the tv then the world is your lobster, amp and speaker or active speakers.

also any reason for keeping the mixer? at this price integrated amps with a phono input are pretty good, rega elicit for example or yamaha as1100/2100, the Technics will just plug in.

Ugg10