1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£1000 to spend on a 32-37" TV

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by Pete872, Jun 30, 2005.

1. Pete872

Pete872

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    This is my 1st post so please be gentle.

I'm a total novice when it comes to all the different terms and technologies that are around at the minute. Like HDTV ect, (what it that, and why do I need a tv compatable with it?)

I have £1000 to spend on a TV weather is be a LCD, Plasma, or even a normal tv I'm leaving that to you good people.

I went out yesterday and bought the 26" lcd that asda are selling at the minute as a stop gap while I gen up on lcd/plasma tv's. I must say the asda one has a fantastic picture through sky digital but is terrible through "normal" tv channels bbc1,2, itv, channel4 and five all have vertical banding on them and ghosting as well as bbc 1&2 being fuzzy. But all this is irrelivent as the size is too small for me so it's just short term solution.

I dont need a tv capable of gaming all I require it for is normal tv,sky+,dvd,video (although less and less nowadays) and I also have a Sony surround sound that wont be plugged in until I move house.

Thanks for taking the time to read this and like I say i'm a complete novice so any help at all in helping me find a decent TV would be great.

Cheers,

Pete. :thumbsup:

2. sholao

sholao

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    Welcome to the forum.

My advise would be to have a read on the forum and see what is available and why people go for different models.

As you already have bough an LCD, you are not in a hurry so play with the TV, connect various things to it, this will give you a feel for how different souces produce different pictures on LCD screens.