1. Join Now

AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£1000/2000 to spend on a screen, advice needed.

Discussion in 'Televisions' started by Marc Sinclair, Aug 22, 2004.

1. Marc Sinclair

Marc Sinclair

Products Owned:
    Products Wanted:
    Ratings:
    +0
    I have just been made redundant after 14 years and got some severance pay...My wife and I figured it might be a good idea to buy a new set whilst we can.
    I am new to the wide screen TV game, but FWIW, I have a bit of experience with quality PC CRT monitors (know about resolution/refresh rates/pixels/colors/shadow mask/aperture grills etc)

Ideally I am looking for a wide screen and it really has to be no smaller than 36"(ideally the bigger the better in WS). I can go up to £2000.

I’ve seen a few LCD's and plasma screens in various shops and I was extremely disappointed in their picture quality (large pixels and pixelation around moving objects etc).
    From reading some of the threads here, it would seem that £2000 would buy a low end Plasma/LCD and a good quality CRT TV in the 36" range...

I’ve read that a few chaps have been recommending the Panasonic TX-36PL32, which the likes of curries do for £935.99...

I have considered the massive back projector TV's just because the screen sizes are just wonderful, but their footprint requires space and I am not sure on the quality factor.

I live in London and can make it down to Sony centre and all the myriad of Hifi shops for some window shopping but there most probably is a load of variations in the way certain sets are setup, tuned or not tuned, positioned, input signals etc, that it might be somewhat hard to make an informed decision...That is why I am happy to have found this forum :)