1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£100-£200 Whats the best DVD recorder for that price?

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players & Recorders' started by Waynej, Oct 23, 2004.

  1. Waynej

    Waynej
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +864
    I recently bought a Eurotech one which I posted about here a few days ago, I'v been having nothing but problems with it, so it's going back.

    I'm looking to spend £100-£200 on a DVD recorder, I want to get another DVD Recorder and would prefer a more know make like Phillips, Toshiba or Sony etc.

    You all seem to have been on these forums for a while so I'm hoping a few people can reply back with some suggestions with DVD Recorders.

    Thanks. :devil:
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    what will you recoird? and what will you watch it on? CRT TV plasma etc model numbers wil help but have a look at the Panasonic DMR-E55
     
  3. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    As Hornydragon says - take a look at the Panasonic E55 - in the sub-£200 category it is the daddy:

    http://www.rgbdirect.co.uk/ProductDetails.asp?SKUNumber=101749

    ...although more information on what you want to record and the use you want to make of recordings (e.g. watch and wipe?) would be useful if you wish us to advise further.
     
  4. Waynej

    Waynej
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2004
    Messages:
    6,496
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Wales
    Ratings:
    +864
    I have a Toshiba 32 inch Widescreen TV and Sky +, most of my programs will be recorded from Sky+ and I also want to back my old tapes up to DVD.


    hmmm, that seems a decent one, might get it actually.

    Only thing i noticed it doesn't say you can record on DVD+R or +RW discs?

    can someone give a little explanation of the difference between the two (+R/-R) and the benfits of them.

    Thanks.
     
  5. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    No it doesn't - it records to DVD-RAM and DVD-R. The former is not very compatible with other DVD players but offers loads of features (non-linear playlists, accurate editting, timeslip) where DVD-R doesn't but offers universal compatibility.

    DVD+RW and DVD+R are unofficial formats that are (technically) almost identical to DVD-RW and DVD-R. The only real difference is who gets the licence fee - Philips (who largely created +) or the DVD Forum. Compatibility of DVD-RW/-R is also somewhat better than DVD+ as well - as an 'official' format support is required whereas + relies on being similar enough to play.

    How this all plays out in the set top DVD recorder market is that the bottom of the range machines tend to use DVD+RW/+R because licencing is cheaper whereas the well known brands (JVC, Panasonic, Toshiba, Pioneer, LG, Hitachi, Samsung, Sharp etc) all use DVD 'minus'.
     
  6. INchSHOrT

    INchSHOrT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    I am also confused on this issue, but then come across the Liteon LVW 5006, this machine is the successor to the 5005, and can play on all formats!!!, cheapest I have seen this for is £179.
     
  7. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    does the lieon have an RGB input??? more important than what it will play is what it wil record and how....... And you can get a branded unit for the same money....... E55 have been on special offer from £150
     
  8. Rasczak

    Rasczak
    Distinguished Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    21,204
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Location:
    Argyll
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    The LiteOn is a bare bones machines with a poor record. Avoid :thumbsdow Recording on all formats is unnecessary :lesson:
     
  9. INchSHOrT

    INchSHOrT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    no RGB input, it will record onto all formats and cheapest I have seen the e55 for is same price £179
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    so no RGB inout means its pretty useless for Sky, cable and most FV boxes. +RW has some major issues...........
     
  11. INchSHOrT

    INchSHOrT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    thanks for that hornydragon, The panny sounds like the better buy in terms of DVDr.
    However I may wait for the new 5045 coming out to see what that is priced at, as that has all of the above including 160 gb hdd. any comments on this?
     
  12. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Want a HHD unit then buy a DMRE85......
     
  13. INchSHOrT

    INchSHOrT
    Standard Member

    Joined:
    Sep 29, 2004
    Messages:
    115
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    oops, this isn't my thread!!!!

    sorry WayneJ for hijacking
     
  14. phelings

    phelings
    Banned

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2003
    Messages:
    1,025
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Ratings:
    +0
    The Liteon 5005 has no RGB input,but the latest,the 5006 does.Still would not buy it over an E55,unless rewritable compatibility was very important
     
  15. a1bert

    a1bert
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
  16. martinthorn

    martinthorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've got a 5006 (yesterday) and it does not seem to accept
    RGB in or send RGB out through the SCART sockets
    despite the menu setting in setup. Picture through composite
    fortunately is quite good..

    Martin
     
  17. bobcar

    bobcar
    Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    708
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +21
    How have you connected it to your source? On Sky or DTT you must use the TV not the VCR (AUX) scart.
     
  18. martinthorn

    martinthorn
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That just may be the problem, I'll try this suggestion and
    report back later..

    thanks,

    Martin

    edit : swapping the scarts around worked ! RGB in/out is fine
    with the 5006 :)
     

Share This Page

Loading...