1. Join Now

    AVForums.com uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

£1,400 budget - best 42" (or 37") plasma?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by SonOfSony, Jun 12, 2005.

  1. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Have got my eye on the Sony KEP42M1 - seen it for £1,400. I know it isn't future proof but it seems nice, Sony always make good stuff.

    Connections are simply Sky+ and home cinema system incorporating DVD player.

    Would prefer a 42" size but may consider 37". Please please please could I have some recommendations from those more in the know than myself?

    Grateful thanks!
     
  2. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Pity Sony dont make PDP's tho isnt it..........
    It will be another manufacturers panel with perhaps sony electronics some are just rebadged for Sony so dont assume the badge relates to the internals or the Quality

    Have a look at this:http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=161811
     
  3. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I've been reading this forum for a while and you're an enormously helpful chap, I must thank you. Have you any personal opinions on my situation?
     
  4. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Well i guess you like sony........ What kit do own? AMP? DVDplayer? Sky? etc are you after a panel or a TV, for a panel at your budget i think it has to be the PWD7 for a TV its a bit more tricky you wont get an "HD ready" set for £1400 of either flavour so its SD or nothing..Whats the viewing distance?
     
  5. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just like Sony stuff! The viewing distance is 9 feet. I'm a bit of a novice really but I'd really like a 42" plasma, maybe 37" if it was a really good one. I'm aware that I may not get a hd ready one for £1,400 but I'm not too fussed about that, I can worry about that in 4-5 years time and get a model which will be cheaper then.

    I don't really know what you mean about a panel or TV! I'd like a plasma that has everything ready to use. I will just use Sky+ and a Panasonic surround sound system with DVD player.

    Might connect the PS2 to it as and when I use it.

    Any suggestions? The Sony KEP42M1 seemed decent enough to me, but I worry if the picture from Sky+ will be any good? I'd plug it in directly via SCART.
     
  6. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hornydragon - I have seen a price of £1,425 from Total Digital for the KEP42M1. Don't know if that sounds good to you, or whether you know the supplier - I expect you do!
     
  7. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    if you have a sound system and sky+ you only need a panel (i.e. a monitor)
     
  8. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Do I really? I never knew that. Our aerial doesn't work and I can't be bothered to sort it out so I don't need any terrestrial TV - we do it all through Sky+.

    Does that mean I'd probably be able to afford a better screen? I need two SCARTS for the surround sound and Sky+ but wouldn't mind a third for the PS2.

    Any recommendations? Something I can just buy without worrying about having to get add-ons or the like?
     
  9. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK lets break it down SofS a Television is a Box with a VDU (monitor) a Tuner (source) a speaker or 3 and a control interface.

    Now you need one of each of these components, Sky+ is a tuner (two actually), DVD is a source sound system is peakers so all you need is a monitor (ie a plasma panel) and a corntrol interface either a seperate remote for everything or a unified system
     
  10. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    FOrget scart for PS2 and probably DVD you should be able to go with component for much better PQ
     
  11. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Call me dense but what connection is a component?

    I currently use my PS2 with the three yellow, white, red cables. I wouldn't blame you for giving up on me!
     
  12. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    can highly recommend a remote like the Harmony 768 to control everything it makes life so much easier
     
  13. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    I still wouldn't mind someone recommending a panel and also recommending a plasma (42" or 37") which comes with everything.
     
  14. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    component is the three rca (or bnc) type video only connection (red, green, blue)
     
  15. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    but you don't need everything as you already have the sound and tuner...so why buy it all again
     
  16. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    OK have you read the replies to your last 4 posts? YOU DONT NEED ONE with EVERYTHING and will pay more for less perfomance..................

    Component is 3 RCA or BNC terminatet coax cables for video (generally) and 2 more for audio if required
    See this
    http://www.avforums.com/forums/showpost.php?p=1703087&postcount=3
     
  17. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    in ohter words... you only need to by a bleedin' display PANEL not a TV!
     
  18. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    Bit blunt dil but yeah thats the Jist of it...............
     
  19. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    have you thought of a career in the diplomatic corp Dil?? :D
     
  20. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    erm..wot da fook is da diplomatic corpse then ?? :confused: :confused:
     
  21. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    LOL...never mind mate...lets just say, you need diplomacy to be in it
     
  22. dilsher

    dilsher
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ohhh..I get it mep my mate...ya mean like as in ..being a bit more subtle innit?

    But I am an Eastender - it don't come wiv da territory round these parts
     
  23. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
    gawd bless ya me old mucker!
     
  24. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    That's a bit harsh saying I've missed the point when no one still hasn't suggest a model to me, despite me asking a few times! ;)
     
  25. Mep

    Mep
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    9,532
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +468
  26. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi MEP, thanks mate. It looks a nice screen.

    I would buy it but the problem is, all these input boards etc, I haven't the faintest idea what I need.

    I have a Panasonic SC-HT520 DVD home theatre sound system and Sky+. I am currently connecting these to my Sony 28" CRT via two SCARTS. I assume that this is the same as I'd need to do on the Panny Plasma you're suggesting to me - so I need two SCART sockets? Will they be on the screen or do I need to buy an input board with them on?

    I'd also like possibly another SCART or some other socket so I can choose to connect my PS2 to the screen as and when I need to play games.

    I just don't know what I need, or anything much about connections apart from SCARTS! If someone could assist, I'd buy this Panasonic plasma tomorrow. Does Sky+ look good on it?
     
  27. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    IF DVD player has component out put then get a dual slot board +£50 from AV-sales and will allow you to connect DVD via component and Sky+ via S-video
     
  28. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    Allright Horny lad?

    Yep, the manual says my surround sound system has Component Out. Why do you suggest doing Sky+ through S-Video? SCART is better quality than that isn't it? I always through SCART was the best connection there is.

    So I've found the screen and now it seems I need to add the Component Out dual slot board as well?

    If I emailed AV Sales with my set up, can they be relied upon to give me the best price and be honest with recommendations as to set up and the cables and boards I'd need? If so, do we have a contact email address?
     
  29. SonOfSony

    SonOfSony
    Guest

    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Ratings:
    +0
    And what about the PS2? How would I connect that? It's either SCART or the yellow/white/red cable isn't it?
     
  30. hornydragon

    hornydragon
    Well-known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2001
    Messages:
    28,293
    Products Owned:
    0
    Products Wanted:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Location:
    Somewhere near the M4 most of the time......
    Ratings:
    +1,215
    nope PS2 can be scart (composite or RGB) Copmosite (crap freebie cable it comes with) S-video (aftermarket) RGB scart (aftermarkket) or Component (aftermarket) Scart isnt hte best and although RGB will better than S-video on a 42" to get the best (without going the external scaler route) you need a JS RGB>VGA converter £150 as mep suggested Panny scart board is a bit pants especially for £150 there are 101 ways to connect this pay me £500 and I'll do you a full wiring schematic...........(or take my advice and do it for free)

    Oh and 2 directors of AV-sales as well as most of the staff are forum members ;)
     

Share This Page

Loading...