Later with Jools Holland Review

Hop To

by AVForums Jul 1, 2004 at 12:00 AM

    After running for 12 years and being widely regarded as the flagship of the BBC's music shows, “Later ... With Jools Holland” has always prided itself on bringing the best blend of musicians to a TV audience. Over the years it has managed to attract just about every major band to perform “live” in the studio. In this set we have the latest compilation culled from the archives, this time featuring British bands only, with tracks recorded from 1993 to 2003.

    The mix on offer here does, pretty much, read like a who's who of Britpop though, with tracks ranging from the emotionally powerful “The Drugs Don't Work” by the Verve through to an energetic performance of “I Believe In A Thing Called Love” by the Darkness. This being a compilation of “live” recordings some of the performances do surprise you, with an Oasis version of “I Am The Walrus” being surprisingly good and a bizarre performance of “Disco 2000” by Pulp being rather disappointing.

    Speaking of disappointment, it came as a large one to notice the almost complete absence of the man himself on this set. Apart from a (very) few appearances in the two mini-interviews (Jools appears in clips only, not as the interviewer) his only appearance is in the DVD menus and opening credits. Given the racks of footage with Jools and guests that must exist (even limiting the scope to Britpop bands), it would have been nice to have had at least a few appearances included. Ahh well.One point worthy of note is an interesting new feature available on this disc. As well as the regular “play all” and the option to jump straight to a favourite track, the facility to build a limited play list has been added. This interesting new twist allows up to five tracks to be selected from the track list and then played back as the viewer desires, neat.
    Full Set List

    1. Ash - Shining Light

    2. Blur - Tender

    3. British Sea Power - Remember Me

    4. Catatonia - Bleed

    5. Coldplay - In My Place

    6. Cornershop - Brimful Of Asha

    7. Doves - The Cedar Room

    8. Echo And The Bunnymen - Nothing Lasts Forever

    9. Elastica - Connection

    10. Elbow - Fugitive Model

    11. Embrace - All You Good Good People

    12. Feeder - Just The Way I'm Feeling

    13. Franz Ferdinand - Take Me Out

    14. Keane - This Is The Last Time

    15. Manic Street Preachers - A Design For Life

    16. Morrissey - Boy Racer

    17. Oasis - I Am The Walrus

    18. Paul Weller - Sunflower

    19. Primal Scream - Movin' On Up

    20. Pulp - Disco 2000

    21. Radiohead - The Bends

    22. Spiritualized - Come Together

    23. Starsailor - Good Souls

    24. Stereophonics - More Life In A Tramps Vest

    25. Suede - So Young

    26. Super Furry Animals - Something For The Weekend

    27. Supergrass - Caught By The Fuzz

    28. 22-20s - Devil In Me

    29. The Beta Band - Human Being

    30. The Charlatans - Just When You're Thinkin' Things Over

    31. The Darkness - I Believe In A Thing Called Love

    32. The Libertines - Up The Bracket

    33. The Verve - The Drugs Don't Work

    34. Travis - All I Wanna Do Is Rock

    The Rundown

    OUT OF
  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice