Absolute Beginner - How the heck does it connect up?

S

st0ne5ish

Hi,

I have never owned an amp, surround sounds speaker system, etc before...

After a lot of research I have decided to take the plunge after buying a new TV and have come up with the following equipment list:

TV - Sony KDL40W2000
Speakers - Tannoy EFX5.1
Amp - Denon AVR1507
cable - QED micro

I also have Sky+ ordered and plan to buy an Xbox360 in the future.

I have no idea how to connect the lot up, whether they will work together and the research is confusing me. :confused:

Would anyone be able to tell me which cables to use to connect the above to each other :thumbsup:

I understand the amp has no HDMI but do I need that? What advantages would an HDMI interface give me with the above setup?

The reason for choosing the QED micro cable is it need to be small as it going in a small gap under the skirting. Does this seem a reasonable choice? Do I need to get the ends of the cables terminated or can they go straight into the speakers?

So many questions I know but any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve

Do you have a DVD player in mind? if so which one? I have assumed something along the lines of a Denon DVD1930 with a HDMI output for best quality connection. If your DVD player doesn't have HDMI you could replace with a component or RGB scart connection. If it doesn't have HDMI or component, i would recommend adding one to your shopping list!

No connection is necessarily required between your TV and the AV receiver unless you want to watch TV programmes with Dolby Pro Logic surround. In this case, check what kind of output your TV has (it will either be optical or 2 x red/white phono sockets) and provide this link to your receiver also.

I don't have any experience of an Xbox 360 so i have made assumptions for these connections, if someone could clarify?

connecting up everything as shown, you will have the choice of sound through your receiver or the TV.