Optoma HD75 - Owners Thread

whiterabbit

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi,

Anyone else out there bought one of these?

I got one over the weekend as a stop gap until the next wave of 1080p PJs become available. Its my first DLP, and unfortunately i suffer from rbe.

There was no place near i could demo a unit, so took the plunge blind.

Initial impressions are good. cinema mode is still very bright and good starting point.

It has very limited placement options with a 1.1 zoom i think. However I still manage to get a 90-100 screen from about 10.5ft.

Image has good 3d feel, very vibrant, nice and clean, that is on hddvd/bd though.

On poorer quality sources such as hdtv pc files the image is a bit overblown in colours and a lot of artifacts ( i think the word is dithering???) ...possibly more due to ffdshow / gfx settings and source quality....however the previous PJ I had ax200 looked slightly smoother image with the same files from memory... i have no knowledge on ffdshow setup so will have to play around to see if i can enhance the picture.

I do have to point out that im projecting on a white/green ( cucumber green) wall with this pj until i build my screen. The Ax200 was used with a 75" diy mdf screen with icestorm6 paint. So once i get the screen done i can evaluate properly.

Would be interested to know if anyone else has one of these and if they have any settings that they want to share. :hiya:

Last edited: