Inexpensive 5.1 Reciever advice

dadoc2001

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi there,

Hope you can help a Newbie here? I currently have a Samsung 40" Full HDTV running with full Virgin TV Package and an 'out the box' LG LH-T550TB 5.1 Home Cinema. While I like the current set up my wife has asked that we buy a Blu-Ray player and so I have bought a Panasonic DMP-DB60EB-K Blu-Ray this very afternoon.

WhaT i would like to know is what Reciever would be able to 'link' in to the system and take advantage of what I already have. I would like to keep the 'surround sound' as 1. Its good to have and 2. I have it all wired up under my floor boards:D so I'd rather keep it there! I was looking at potentially purchasing this

HYUNDAI AV1-4800 5.1 SURROUND SOUND RECEIVER AMP USB SD on eBay (end time 30-Nov-10 10:53:13 GMT)

Is it decent for the job? My out the box system has an apparent 1000w capability as does this reciever. My biggest 'issue' is the wiring - the LG uses a very basic 'tab' system where you depress the tab +ve and -ve and push the wire into the hole. This reciever appears to have a plug attachment? for the speakers at the back of it?

Any help on this would be greatfully recieved. I would like to keep this Reciever cost to a minimum while retaining my existing speaker set up. Any further suggestions (and links:)) will be welcome

Thanks - Oh and Hi :smashin:

s.gif

-- As an eBay Associate, AVForums earns from qualifying purchases --