Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Yamaha YSP-2200 Sound Bar - Mini Review

Discussion in 'Soundbars' started by boglet2003, Dec 12, 2010.

  1. boglet2003

    boglet2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Owned - 2 weeks

    This is a 2 week review..... I will add more detail later

    I purchased this because we had just redecorated our living room and I didn't want it swamped by speakers in every corner, that were in place before. I was a little concerned at first because out living room is not a normal shape and the TV is not placed in the centre of the room. Even with our original 5.1 system we had trouble finding a sweet spot for the full surround effect.
    Well I needn't have worried. The auto set up is quick and easy and takes everything into the room into account. (You even have to leave the room - in case you affect the reading). A load of weird noises come from behind closed doors and then after about 3 minutes the system is set up.
    On initial start up the bass is deep, powerful and sweeping. The system comes with a demo DVD to set out all the settings and I was amazed just how well and defined the surround system sounded. Birds were heard tweeting in all corners of the room, and sound was rich and powerful (and I only had the volume on 20 /100!!)
    Then there is the fine tuning.... a gadget geeks dream...
    The various music modes also mean that this is a fully functional sound system as well as a home cinema system.
    There is a sweet spot, but much bigger than in my previous system. I also had to place my speaker lower down that I would have liked, (almost at floor level), this doesn't seem to affect the overall surround effect much.

    Bad Points
    Two small things

    If you are a gadget geek you will be fine tuning for weeks !!!!!!!!
    Remote looks a bit plasticy... shame when you pay so much !!
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. clle

    clle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thats interesting I have had for just over a week and whilst I love the sound the surround effects have been minimal - tv in the corner with a settee close by.

    Did you place the speaker lower down to get the effects or was that the only place you could fit it in.

    Know what you mean about the remote.
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2010
  3. boglet2003

    boglet2003 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    I placed the speaker lower down as there was a shelf on my tv stand where it would fit very nicely. However, this was the lowest shelf, which is almost on the floor. It also fit in front of the TV, but it looked a bit cluttered.
    I had to recalibrate it when I moved it for the effects to work again.

    The surround effects do seem to work. I spent a while though moving the intelli setup mic to different places, altering the angle of the speaker a bit to get the best result.

    I't not perfect, but my room is really an odd shape with alcoves etc. However I do get a full 'room' of sound, with well defined stereo separation and good surround effects. Someof the rear ones are a bit hit and miss, but i put this down to some of the 'beams' being deflected up my stairs!! (i may settle down and manually set these up at some stage).

    Even so the sound is still far more powerful and richer than my old 5.1 speaker system.

    I find digital music from my ipod to sound fantastic - far better than the stereo system I had.

    Do you use the dsp? I found the surround worked better with everything swicthed off except the digital music enhancer. The Univolume feature just made things sound hollow! I have never been a fan of dsp settings..

    I also found the default setting for teh center speaker was a bit low, so i upped that a bit and increased the treble.
  4. jerry

    jerry Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    What is the price of this bit of kit?
  5. clle

    clle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5
    Around £720
  6. clle

    clle Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2009
    Messages:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +5

    I watched Terminator Salvation last night - wow sound was incredible :smashin:
  7. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Got the YSP Exmas eve, tried Avatar BD and was really impressed with the sound quality, still a not totally happy with the surround efects, but i`ll mess around with it and try a few things to improve it.
    Overall its a quality bit of kit if you want to do away with all the clutter of cables etc and its future proof being 3D enabled for when i upgrade my LCD to Full 3d.... as what to go for i`m just not sure just now, but i`ll be looking at the main players in the market to see whats on offer, but it wont be till early year when prices drop and more importantly better choice of Movies/ content become available.
  8. 1needhelp

    1needhelp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi There, :hiya:

    Just wondering if this soundbar can be mounted?
    Also, can you please give us some updates on this from last entry? like how the surround sound is sounding now after endless tweaking? :thumbsup:

    I'm very interested in getting it, but £720 is not exactly peanuts
    Last edited: Jan 10, 2011
  9. custardy

    custardy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2008
    Messages:
    30
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    would be interested in this myself
    we have a wall mounted TV upstairs and would be good to mount a speaker bar under it
  10. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Looking at the manual there is no reference to this unit being wall mounted, i`m sure its designed to be installed on a tv stand.
    I`ve reset the intellibeam after repositioning a few things in my sitting room and the sound has improved very well, i also gave the settings additional tweets, but overall i`m fairly happy with it. Now i`m waiting to see whats gonna be new on the 3D market in the next couple of months, and i do hope that Passive 3D will take off, as i dont mind paying a couple of quid for these type of glasses compaired to the active glasses, that way it will be a system that everyone can enjoy??
  11. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Yamaha and others make soundbars that can be wall mounted, have a look online and you will come accross ones that can be wall mountable.
  12. alasrati

    alasrati Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    824
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +95
    Looking at pictures of the rear, there are no mounting holes.
  13. Vetti Koodhi

    Vetti Koodhi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everyone.
    Been doing quite a bit of research here and have narrowed my choice to this. Unfortunately not a single place I know off seem to have a unit for demo hence looks like will end up buying it solely based on reviews. Just wondering what you guys thought about this unit in a "L" shaped room with the TV and unit in the top of the long limb in the "L". Any opinion would be extremely useful. Thanks.
  14. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    As long as your listening and viewing position is facing your tv with the YSP and Sub directly underneath it, you should be fine on getting the surround effects. There are full instruction on the YSP website to download on this unit, and how to set the unit up.
    Download the PDF file and have a closer look at the Unit, then that may give you an idea of what you are buying.:thumbsup:
  15. nwpsys

    nwpsys Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2001
    Messages:
    100
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
  16. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hey nwpsys.

    Try this link, its the USA version. I Know its not the UK/EU version, but i think the unit will be exactly the same other than the voltage difference.
    I tried to get the uk/eu link but the page did no load.
    My Unit came with a Disk on all the (advanced) set up instructions.
    At least it will give you an idea of what your looking at.:thumbsup:

    YSP-2200 - Digital Sound Projector - Yamaha - United States
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  17. 1needhelp

    1needhelp Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks BizzyBee,

    ashamed that this one can't be mounted.
    By the way, is the subwoofer wireless or wired?
  18. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5

    The Subwoofer is wired from the Unit, It comes with a connecting cable to link it up.
    Hope this helps.
  19. Derek S-H

    Derek S-H Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2005
    Messages:
    725
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +167
    This has just been reviewed in this month's "What Hi-Fi?" and they give it glowing praise and five stars.

    I can see this being hugely popular in many domestic living rooms whereby one person wants Surround Sound and another person doesn't want lots of boxes and cables!

    I know that opinion of the magazine is mixed on here, but I thought it was a good review.

    Derek
  20. Ladyinspain

    Ladyinspain Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2010
    Messages:
    34
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I am looking at buying this model, I live in Spain and the cheapest I can buy online is 999 Euros. I'm going to the UK later in the year so it's possible I could bring one back. Where did you buy yours?
    Thanks:)
  21. highlander_777

    highlander_777 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2004
    Messages:
    216
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi

    I made an impulse buy to put this in the bedroom

    The issue is that I did not measure the speaker, but checked on line and noted that my cabinet is not wide enough where the TV is housed.

    My only option is to put the speaker ontop of the cabinet. This will be around 5ft off the floor.

    Question. this has auto setup. Anyone tested the speaker higher up??

    Note: Not picked up the speaker , so could cancel. Not sure what other option I could go for!
  22. Mrb1972

    Mrb1972 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,908
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +280
    Im thinking about getting this item, can anyone tell me how soundbars perform with windows and curtains in the room, do they still work ok?
  23. brassbellend

    brassbellend Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Although the unit can't be wall mounted you can either put a small shelf under the TV and place the unit on that or even just a discreet pair of shelf supports to support it.
  24. Fido87456

    Fido87456 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    I'm also thinking about getting one of these to de-clutter the lounge a bit. Can you tell me if it has a headphone socket? I occasionally watch movies / play games late at night on headphones and I know some soundbars don't have a socket!
  25. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi

    The soundbar does not have a headphone socket, the 3.5mm socket on the front of the unit is used for the intelibeam set up. Pherhaps if you required a headphone connection you could just take it from source. ie: tv, hifi which would still give you digital stereo.
    Go to the Yamaha website and download the users/set up instructions that`ll give you more info on the unit.
    Hope this helps.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  26. Fido87456

    Fido87456 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2008
    Messages:
    320
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +18
    Doh, that's a shame. I could use my tv as a sound source late at ngiht, but I'd prefer to use the soundbar, I use my Yamaha DSP-AX763 at the moment, and I like using the DSP effect modes for movies or games when using headphones.
  27. carnaige

    carnaige Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    316
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +27
    Hi there..

    I am undecided about whether to buy this sound bar or opt for the cheaper S400 model...

    We are wall mounting our 42" TV and I am looking to buy & place a sound bar underneath. ideally I want to wall mount but we may have to put a shelf on the wall instead and place the sound bar on that. (as the yamaha sound bars don't appear to be wall mountable?)..

    I do not have an A/V receiver and I am looking to link up a Sky HD, Xbox 360 and Blu-Ray player to my Sound system.

    With the Yamaha YHTS400, all HDMI's cables go into the sub/receiver unit and then the speaker cables go to the soundbar... that sounds pretty practical to me and saves trailing HDMI leads from each AV unit up through the wall and then out into the back of the YHTS400 sound bar..

    With the YSP-2200 it seems that I would have to run 3 HDMI cables from my AV equiptment (on a unit 3 metres away) up through the wall and then into the Soundbar. I would then have a speaker lead going out of the back of the soundbar out to the sub-woofer.

    Now despite the 2200 being the better performer, it seems that it may not be v practical for my set up and I have a couple of questions about this:

    - Will I have to have my 3 HDMi leads going up into the back of the sound bar? I guess I would have to purchase an AV receiver if I just wanted to use one lead.

    - Would i then have to have 1 HDMI coming out of the 2200 Sound bar to pass the Video signal on to my TV?

    - Do the HDMI cables at the rear drastically increase the space required at the back of the Sound bar? I want my bar to be as flush to the wall as possible with all wires hidden (through a hole in the wall behind the bar).

    - Are there any other options out there!!!

    I like the S400 as a cheaper more practical option but from what i read it lacks a little performance wise compared to the 2200... hence my conundrum!
  28. bizzybee

    bizzybee Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi
    I would go for the YSP2200.
    You can get angled HDMI connectors to get the unit further back to the wall, and the sub connection is just speaker cable and it comes with about 9mtrs of cable.
    Also the 2200 is 3D ready so I would think about mounting the Unit on a stand rather than on the wall? bearing in mind if your tv is 3d, or you plan to upgrade in the future, as viewing angles are important on 3D sets.
    Go to Yamaha website and download the PDF file on the YSP2200 and look at the unit in detail,
    I have had this unit for about 7 months now, and i think its a quality unit.
    Hope this helps you decide.
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  29. cskat

    cskat Member

    Joined:
    May 20, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi everyone,

    I hope someone who owns the ysp-2200 can help me. I bought one of these a week ago and have been very happy with it. Over the weekend I had a power cut and unfortunately at the time the sound bar was in operation playing at a high volume. After getting everything back up and running, the sound on the bar and subwoofer sounded awful. I successfully reset the soundbar to factory settings which has restored the bar to it's former glory however the subwoofer still does not sound right. I didn't get round to testing everything properly prior to the power cut but what I'd like to know is am I supposed to hear music or even possibly faint dialogue from the subwoofer? The sub sounds very muffled and when I set the volume of the sub it clicks on each level. I think the sub might have been damaged in the power cut but I'm not sure if it's the sub or the actual sound bar amp output. I've re-run the intellibeam set up already but the sub still doesn't seem to sound right. I'm one step away from getting this sent off for repair but would like to know if there's possibly a quick fix or diagnostic I can carry out for this! Thanks in advance!
  30. STEVENM1000

    STEVENM1000 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    71
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    I bought the Denon soundbar about 3 years ago and although the actual sound produced is very good it is hit and miss on the surround effects,which is not one of its strong points.
    If the Yamaha is as good as people make out I would consider upgrading as I cannot be bothered with individual speakers placed around the room.
    However at approx prices of £700/£800 I would like a demo first.
    I phoned Sound & Vision in Leeds today but they only have it demonstrated at their Bolton store.Does anybody know anywhere in the Leeds district where it can be demonstrated,as I do not wish to pay out £700 if it is only marginally better than my Denon.
    Last edited: Aug 2, 2011

Share This Page