Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

with freesat do boxes have an RF2 out put that works with a magic eye?

Discussion in 'Freesat Forum' started by shoestring25, Oct 9, 2009.

  1. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    with freesat do boxes have an RF2 out put that works with a magic eye as i might get rid of my sky+ but only if i can retain the rf2 features
  2. Davey H

    Davey H Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2009
    Messages:
    707
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +154
    No unfortunately, but you could connect the scart output from a Freesat stb to an RF modulator like this for example ,in conjunction with an omni link kit like this as a work around.
    Last edited: Oct 9, 2009
  3. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    As wavydavy says you can transmit the programme using an external modulator. You can use the magic eye but you need a power supply and a box to convert the coax remote control signals back to IR available from here

    Buy Now
  4. thornton

    thornton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2005
    Messages:
    263
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +11
    This need to buy extra bits and pieces just to get some basic 2nd output is pretty naff, IMHO. My second TV is an old small 20in in a kitchen and the magic eye system works brilliantly with both a SKY HD and an old SKY box together.

    Does anyone know if there are competitors to Humax on the horizon which both fix this and also, and more importantly, offer some decent price competition?

    A separate question is if the Panasonic BR recorders with twin freesat have a controllable RF2 feed?
  5. Geofbob

    Geofbob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +312
    Another way of looking at it is that is not basic, & that in installing the RF2 etc in their boxes Sky are demonstrating that - despite the brickbats often hurled at them on these forums - they provide a high quality service.

    I'll let others answer definitively but I suspect that the Panasonic HD Freesat recorders also lack a modulator,
    Last edited: Oct 10, 2009
  6. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    Frankly that's a pretty poor argument. Distribution by RF is convenient but very outdated. It delivers a poor picture that's really only acceptable on small screen TV's and on the few small screen lcd's that I have seen the picture is awfull. It can only deliver mono sound and will only work as long as receiving equipment with analogue tuners are available. I don;t think any freesat boxes have modulators (it's not part of the spec for the reasons given above). More modern systems can deliver HD Tv and high quality RGB SD using cheap lan cat5E cables. Now if baluns were fitted as standard that would be a different story :D
  7. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    I'm a bit confused how do i watch a second out put and control it via a magic eye with these? and what equipment does these come on?
  8. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    Where does the Magic Eye come into it, there are loads of alternatives to Magic Eyes that will work with all the remote equipment not just the sky box, you can also convert magic eyes if you so wish to allow control of everything.

    Example of a pair of baluns for HD transmission

    HDMI over Cat 5 (Dual) Balun Pair - Long Distance HDMI

    Add a wireless remote control extender and you have an infinetely superior solution giving a full HD picture on a suitable remote TV.

    Sadly AFAIK no current STB's incorporate this technology as I said in my posting.

    Sky's rf2 output is undeniably convenient, but it's a low quality and not future proof system
  9. Geofbob

    Geofbob Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,293
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +312
    I did say "another way of looking at it" - clearly it's not your way.

    This feature probably saves many Sky users who are not very technically minded from needing to sign up for multiroom at an extra £10pm. The numerous posts to these forums about the RF2 link show how useful Sky users find it. Personally - & I am not a Sky subscriber (or employee!) - I still think it shows good customer service on the part of Sky to provide this facility - outdated though it may be.
  10. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    I have also seen a few posters who assume that the system is so good that they mount their sky boxes remotedly from a large modern TV and deliver signals to all TV's from rf2 out and guess there must a lot more out there. I also use a rf distribution to send the pictures and sound from my 3 pvrs and a DVD player to a 15" kitchen TV and it works fine. If the sky manuals explained the limitations of the system then I have no quarrel with this at all, but they don't.
  11. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    HDMI over Cat 5 (Dual) Balun Pair this does seam a great bit of kit with a few down sides. i don't want to have to run twp lengths of cat 6 cable from my lounge up the wall and into my bedroom. when there is already a coaxial in the wall. also i can only run this to the bedroom TV not ail the other TVs in the house as well

    the RF2 signal from the sky box gives a good picture on my 28 inch in the bedroom all run along the exiting coaxial in the wall (no need for wall channeling to run cat 6) all run bye a remote eye which cost £1. I'm not looking for a home cinema experience in my bedroom just a watchable picture the HD surround sound setup is for the lounge.


    i think if i get a free sat box without an RF2 input i will get a video sender with no cables with this at all. not as good as the RF2 option but alot less work the running cat6 cable
  12. wizard1

    wizard1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Isn't the easiest option to keep the skybox just for the other rooms and use a freesat box for your livingroom some freesat boxes have a passthrough for the satellite feed.
  13. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    A passthrough does not work like an aerial feed, it restricts what the downstream box can recieve when using both
  14. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    can you please explain in a bit more detail for me how thie passthrough works
  15. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    A lnb is not like an aerial as it's an active device, briefly it is switched by the Sat tuner into a low or high frequency mode (using the prescence or not of a 22Khz tone, the sat band is split at 11700Mhz) and into either horizontal or vertical polarisation (by a 12 or 18V dc voltage). This creates 4 possible modes. Only 1 tuner can control the lnb so at any one time only those channels in the same quadrant as the controlling tuner has switched the lnb to are available on the loop out connection.

    More details here

    Digital Spy Forums - View Single Post - Will the new Humax PVR work with 1 LNB feed?
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    The video sender will give you stereo sound and probably a better picture than a modulator but can be prone to interference, the newer 5.8Mhz designs are much less prone to interference
  17. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    so the pasthrough connection would to be connected to another freesat box but then only be able to watch what the first freesat box was watching?!?!

    why wouldn't you just connect the second freesat box up to the LNB directly then be able to get all the channels? like sky multi room

    am i understanding how this works correctly? seams passthrough is pointless



    thanks again for helping me understand all this graham
  18. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    i will look into a 5.8Mhz video sender as my parents have an older model and that can suffer from interference from time to time
  19. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,740
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,098
    No you misunderstand, you dont have to watch the same channel just channels in the same quadrant. Download this webpage and load it into your browser

    4shared.com - online file sharing and storage - download FoxsatStaticMK2_011.htm

    This shows the freesat epg channels with the four blocks in col 4 - HBH - High Band Horizontal, HBV - High Band Vertical, LBH - Low Band Horizontal and LBV - Low Band Vertical

    Imagine a foxsat-hdr with only one cable (common in blocks of flats where it's often not practical to get a second connection). The hdr allows you to loop the tuner 1 out to tuner 2 in thus connecting both tuners to only 1 lnb. Tuner 1 controls the lnb tuner 2 has access to all the channels in the same block.

    Example tuner 1 recording BBC 1 on 10788 V. Tuner 2 can record

    Code:
    121 Channel 4 + 1	10729	V
    122 E4	10729	V
    123 E4 +1	10729	V
    124 More4	10729	V
    975 Channel 4 + 1	10729	V
    103 ITV 1 London	10758	V
    103 ITV 1 Granada	10758	V
    103 ITV 1 Anglia North	10758	V
    103 ITV 1  Central West	10758	V
    113 ITV2	10758	V
    117 ITV4	10758	V
    602 CITV	10758	V
    977 ITV 1 London (audio described)	10758	V
    101 BBC One	10788	V
    952 BBC 1 E Mids	10788	V
    953 BBC 1 East (E)	10788	V
    955 BBC 1 N West	10788	V
    963 BBC 1 W Mids	10788	V
    966 BBC 1 Yorks	10788	V
    967 BBC 1 Eyrks*L	10788	V
    101 BBC One	10817	V
    956 BBC 1 NE & C	10817	V
    958 BBC 1 Oxford	10817	V
    959 BBC 1 S East	10817	V
    961 BBC 1 South	10817	V
    962 BBC 1 S West	10817	V
    965 BBC 1 West	10817	V
    108 BBC HD	10847	V
    951 BBC 1 CI	10847	V
    954 BBC 1 East (W)	10847	V
    103 STV	10906	V
    115 ITV3	10906	V
    116 ITV3 +1	10906	V
    731 Talk Sport Radio	10906	V
    304 Movies4Men	11223	V
    306 Movies4Men2	11223	V
    403 Rural TV	11259	V
    140 Black Entertainment Television (BET)	11307	V
    135 Zone Romantica	11343	V
    724 Absolute Radio 	11390	V
    725 Absolute Classic Rock 	11390	V
    726 Absolute Radio Extreme 	11390	V
    727 NME Radio 	11390	V
    728 WRN 	11390	V
    729 JazzFM	11390	V
    777 Insight Radio 	11390	V
    790 TWR Radio	11390	V
    208 Bloomberg TV	11426	V
    801 price-drop tv	11426	V
    302 True Movies	11642	V
    303 True Movies 2	11642	V
    500 Chart Show TV	11642	V
    501 The Vault	11642	V
    502 Flava	11642	V
    603 POP	11642	V
    604 POPGirl	11642	V
    605 Tiny POP	11642	V
    606 Kix!	11642	V
    203 Al Jazeera English	11680	V
    209 NHK WORLD TV	11680	V
    If you have the option of fitting a multilnb (quad or octal) that's 4 or 8 lnbs in a single box you should always if possible give each tuner a seperate lnb but it's not always practical.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. shoestring25

    shoestring25 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2003
    Messages:
    3,180
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +179
    sorry graham what i ment to say was so the pasthrough connection would have to be connected to another freesat box but then only be able to watch the same quadrant of programs the first freesat box was watching?!?!


    got a quad LNB on the dish so i could set up another freesat box in the bedroom. alot of messing about to do this through. think i will go down the 5.8Ghz video sender route

    thanks for all your help
  21. wizard1

    wizard1 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 28, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Yeah I know what you mean about the pass through, I just meant watching the same channel in each room isn't a problem at the moment so shouldn't bother them to continue to do the same.

Share This Page