Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Wireless Surround Sound Speakers.

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by Harismith, May 10, 2010.

1. Harismith

Harismith Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I'm a novice and I'd like advice about surround sound speakers.
    The speakers are to be connected to a TV and should be wireless. I appreciate that the speakers will require power, so wont strictly be wireless.
    I don't need/want a full Home Cinema system, just speakers for the TV.
    What should I be looking for and is a 7.1 set up that much better than a 5.1 for connecting to a TV?
    Any advice/info would be much appreciated.
  2. welshcraig

welshcraig Member

Ratings:
    +46
    dont think what you are looking for exists yet does it:confused:.
    also speakers connected to t,vwont give 5.1 or 7.1.
  3. StevieBuck

StevieBuck Active Member

Ratings:
    +685
    No, if I'm understanding you correctly then no such system exists.

Depending on what TV you have (what model is it by the way?) it will probably output audio over stereo analogue connectors or a digital optical connection. The stereo analogue connectors will output exactly the same signals as what are being played back from the TV's speakers. Therefore connecting a set of speakers (wireless or not) to this and moving them to the back of your room won't actually give you surround sound. Depending on the speakers you use, then it may well sound better than the TV's built-in ones though.

The digital optical output will output the same audio signals as well, unless your TV has a built-in tuner that is capable of receiving HD channels. In this case the optical will output 5.1 audio. However, you need a home cinema system to decode the 5.1 signal and play it back through a set of speakers. Furthermore, you will only get 5.1 audio on selected HD programmes.