Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Windows Easy Transfer - editing MIG file?

Discussion in 'Computer Software & Operating Systems' started by Maniac618, Oct 24, 2009.

  1. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi everyone,

    I created a migration file with Windows Easy Transfer to my external drive.

    I wiped my C drive and Vista Install.

    I installed Windows 7.

    I opened the MIG file from my external drive.

    I restored my user / main settings.

    I tried to restore my other files (not user files).

    There is not enough space even though its a copy of what was previously on the drive!

    I didn't take into consideration that Windows 7 OS may be bigger than Vista OS.

    I'm stuck and not able to 'unpack' the MIG file.

    Is there any way to further choose / edit somehow what the MIG file unpacks?

    :lease:
  2. EmotionalTrout

    EmotionalTrout Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2006
    Messages:
    666
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +74
    Hi Maniac

    Copied from TechNet:

    You cannot use Windows Easy Transfer to move program files. Windows Easy Transfer can move only data and program settings. You must then install your software programs on the new computer.

    Windows Easy Transfer also does not transfer any system files such as fonts and drivers. To do this, you must install custom fonts and updated drivers again in Windows 7.
  3. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Hi,

    Yeah I have read this, but it's just Movie files and some music etc. You can copy that stuff listed above by the way, but it's doubtful it'll work.

    Basically I have stuff in the MIG file as additional files which you can select at the time of creating the MIG and that's what there is not enough space for when I try and unpack that.

    I have successfully unpacked the user part of the MIG, just not the rest that I included.

    I just need to know if there is any way to edit the MIG to maybe stop it trying to do the whole lot as there is evidently not enough space.

    Thanks for replying so quick though.
  4. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Also the Wizard tells me it only needs 328.4gb and my drive has 438gb free.

    Something is wrong here because it is telling me there isn't enough space?!
  5. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    Anyone able to help at all? I've basically got a lot of stuff locked in a .MIG file that I can't get to.

    Is there any way to get inside it and edit it? The only way I'd get to it if not is by installing windows vista or 7 on another machine with a 600gb hd and then try running it!!

    I can't do that.

    :lease:
  6. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    There must be some expert that can help?:eek::(
  7. Singh400

    Singh400 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    17,830
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,416
    It may need lots of temporary space to unpack the file. Try moving some data off the drive, to free up more space.
  8. Maniac618

    Maniac618 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2004
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +22
    the destination drive or the drive with the mig on it?

    Please see attached image.

    On the right of the image is my drive space. See that my C drive clearly has enough space!!

    Attached Files:

Share This Page