Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why is my 1080p plasma showing 720p?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by budmonster, Nov 26, 2011.

1. budmonster

budmonster Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I just bought a LG 50PV450 Television - 50" Class 1080P Plasma TV
    When I turn on my HD channels on, it says "720p" at the top of the screen? What does this mean? I thought my TV was 1080p as it says "FULL HD 1080p". I'm new to all this TV lingo so forgive me if I'm asking something that has already been answered.

One more thing...What are the best setting for my TV? There are so many options that I have no clue what my TV settings should be on?

Thanks for all the help!
    -Brett
  2. HaRd2BeAr

HaRd2BeAr Active Member

Ratings:
    +722
    What source is this on ie Sky, Freeview, Virgin Media? Also what channel.

Aaron
  3. londonbornpaddy

londonbornpaddy Member

Ratings:
    +25
    According to peoples comments on other threads there are no channels that transmit at 1080p as far as i am aware most HD is 720p apart from upscaled SD. If you have Virgin you can set up the Vbox to send 1080i to your tv. But the only true 1080p would be blu ray.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. jackw123

jackw123 Member

Ratings:
    +21
    Broadcasters only send 720p signal as not all hd tvs are full 1080p
  5. budmonster

budmonster Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Ok I was scared for a minute as I was wondering why every channel was 720 and and most non HD channels are 480.

You said not all 1080p TVs are "FULL" 1080, how do I know if I mine is or is not?

Does anyone know what I need to change my picture settings too, to get this possible quality out of my Plasma?
  6. budmonster

budmonster Member

Ratings:
    +0
    I have Verizon FiOS HD, I live in the US. I've tried ESPN, ABC, NBC, some of the big channels.
  7. FUltra

FUltra Member

Ratings:
    +18