1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Why has my internet slowed down?

Discussion in 'ISPs & The Internet' started by 7ewis, Jul 24, 2010.

  1. 7ewis

    7ewis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    About 3 weeks ago I tried [Mod Comment: Piracy site removed] :facepalm:for the first time as i needed some films as i would be away for 2 weeks. I downloaded about 4 and put them onto my ipod. Internet speed was fine (its up to 8mb with Tiscali now talktalk btw) now Im back it is realllyyy slow.:suicide:.
    I had a couple of speed tests on the speedtest.net ipod app:


    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]



    I haven't recieved any notification about it being slowed. It is slow on every PC not just one so its not a virus..Help me:lease:
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2010
  2. accyuklad

    accyuklad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,038
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +281
    show router stats and you using it hard wired
  3. 7ewis

    7ewis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    What do you mean by router stats? Where can I find it?
    I'm using wireless my wired computer is terrible, literally takes about 10mins to turn on. No one ewe uses it
  4. accyuklad

    accyuklad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,038
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +281
    ok best bet to make sure a easier way put your router line into the test socket and see if speed improves and get back

    test socket is behind master socket if you not sure look on google about test socket
    Last edited: Jul 24, 2010
  5. 7ewis

    7ewis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    Googled it but my socket is hard to get to because of cables and a cupboard..

    Also my dads not here ATM and it's his computer and I don't really want to play around with the wires :s is there any thing else I can do?
  6. accyuklad

    accyuklad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,038
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +281
    login to your router and look at the stats and see what sync rate its at and line att and add on here if you know how to
  7. 7ewis

    7ewis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    i know how to log on but where do i find the info?
  8. accyuklad

    accyuklad New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    5,038
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ratings:
    +281
    well your isp would tell you still to try your router in the test socket to rule out if there is a fault internal as it be your problem to fix
  9. 7ewis

    7ewis Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Messages:
    773
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +13
    ok thanks

Share This Page