Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ways to make the Pioneer DV-600AV / DV-400V / DV-300 Multiregion

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by TUT, Jul 4, 2007.

  1. TUT

    TUT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2005
    Messages:
    552
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +88
    Methods for making your Pioneer DV-300/400V/600AV multiregional only works on Region 2 DVDs/DVRs

    * It is possible to make your player region free with a computer(laptop) and IR
    Just download the following zip file and follow the instructions.
    The IR eye on the player is position just right of the tray.
    Region free via IR
    This works for all newer Pioneer DVD players

    * You can also possible to make it region free with a symbian phone (like nokia 6600) . Just install Psiloc Total IR Remote (15-day trial) & this CCF template, install Total IR to your phone & import to it the template. Assign a button to the code region free hack, press the button facing the IR of the phone to your player. You will know it has worked when the player shuts down automatically. Power your player now and it is region free (regarding it still says Region 1 or 2).
    You might need to uninstall other IR software in your phone to avoid conflicts.
    CCF File could also be used together with TV Remote

    * Palm
    You need OmniRemote Pro V2.01 Pacific Neo-Tek
    1. Install OmniRemote
    2. Export the current Category (should be TV) to the memo pad
    3. Modify the "Button name-0" data with the following code:
    0000 0067 0050 0000 0154 00af 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0014 045d 0154 00ae 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0016 0040 0014 045d 0154 00ae 0016 0040 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0016 0040 0015 0015 0015 0015 0014 00af
    4. Import the database in omniremote
    5. Turn on your DVD Player. Press 0 on the palm. DVD Player turns off and is now region free.
    Download PDB file: Multiregion DVD and DVR-X40H(X)

    * Philips Pronto
    Download CCF file

    This modification is intended for use on Region 2 UK/European models only. Although this upgrade *may* work on non R2 models, There is no guarantee of success - You try these methods above at your own risk .:D
    And please let the other knows if it works for you.
    This info is taking from another source

    Good Luck
    TUT
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. bym007

    bym007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,356
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +53
    Thanks for your post. I downloaded the software WinLIRC for my laptop [Acer Ferrari 4005WLMI, comes with an IRDA] and tried to run it, I get this error about the configuration file:

    [​IMG]

    I have tried to click on cancel on this menu, and change the settings myself in config menu, but still getting same message ,,,:suicide:

    And I am clueless about editing the inf files you mentioned, as I cant find them on my laptop [C:\Windows\*] :rolleyes:

    Could you kindly help me in this regard;

    oh, and by the way, also clarify that my DVD player, Pioneer XV DV-240, [came bundled in a 5.1 home theater in a box], can be MR'd in this manner.

    Any and all help is much appreciated.

    Regards.
  3. bym007

    bym007 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    1,356
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +53
    anyone ? :confused:
  4. motomoto

    motomoto Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    hello,

    I've tried both Palm(clie) method and Pocket PC method. In each case everything seemed to be fine and after pressing button the DVD player (DV-600AV) turned off. But After power on nothing had been changed.
    the option display says that it remains region 2.

    Does anybody have any suggestion ?
  5. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The player can be region-free even, if "the option display says that it remains region 2" :) Just put different region dvd into your player and see, if this works. :)
    You may also upgrade your Pioneer DVD player with modded firmware (remember that warrenty is void, if you do so). All avalible modded firmwares for Pioneer DVD players are patched for making the player region-free, using it's remote control. Have a look at www.pioneerfaq.info
    :hiya:
  6. motomoto

    motomoto Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you dinderi-san for your kind response.
    Unfortunatelly, my region 1 disk cannot be played (display "open" logo on LCD and tray will be opened.)
    I've also tried to do firmware update by CD-ROM disk as your suggestion, but player said that the disk cannot be played and I was not able to play version up disk.
    BTW, the option display said that the ROM version is YGC7509D, which I cannot find any information on the Net. Perhaps, Pioneer bolcked the user update for the new DV-600AV player.
    Does anybody have any information ?
  7. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    It looks your player (dv-600) hasn't got any modded fw yet ;) So far there is no original firmware avalible for your player yet. So, it is good you did not succeeded to upgrade it :)
    May be, you can save the fw from your player, I may make the hack for making it region free.
  8. Tony Lazzerini

    Tony Lazzerini Member

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2007
    Messages:
    966
    Trophy Points:
    43
    Ratings:
    +248
    This all sounds way too hard. Any decent Pio dealer should be able to multi-region a current Pio DVD player/recorder. It takes ten seconds. So take it back where you got it and ask to have it multi-regioned.

    If you get really stuck send it to me and I'll do it FOC. But you'll have to postage.

    Tony
  9. motomoto

    motomoto Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you Dinderi-san,

    How can I save my fw to send you ?
  10. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Right. Having Service Remote Control or using specific program with PC or PDA, or Symbian cellular phone does not need fw to be hacked.

    Motomoto-san, You need serial cable. You can use f.e. cellural phone rs232 serial cable or built one yourself. I recomend to built this one:
    Click here for Tiny_3_Wires schematic
    It is 100% working.

    Then you need to open your player and find specific place on mother board, that looks similar to this:
    [​IMG]
    or this:
    [​IMG]


    Ofcourse there will not be any "TX,RX" written on board. Text was added to describe the picture.


    Connect your PC using RS232 cable, to the ports TX, RX and GND. Solder 'Cable TX' with 'player's RX' and 'cabel RX' with 'player's TX'. Now connect your player to electricity and power it on. Now open MTKTool http://personal.inet.fi/cool/mediatek/programs/mtktool.html
    and push 'Buck up' button.

    Ofcourse, if you think you may have a problem to make this, it is better not to do it. You may kill your player, if you do something wrong.

    But, if you succeed and save this firmware, please send it to me at dinderi [at] yahoo.com.au, I send it back to you in few minutes, hacked for multiregion ;)
  11. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Motomoto-san,
    I have a good new, I think there is fw for your player (dv-600) avalible, since couple of hours. :) If the man who relesed it, confirm it is in fact the one, I would paste a link to the modded fw for multiregion.
  12. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    Thats because you have to physically UNPLUG the unit from the mains for the new settings to come into effect.

    DV600s can be modded by any of the above methods (if done right!) or via the usual factory service remotes offered by modification dealers and most specialist Pioneer AV dealers out there.
  13. motomoto

    motomoto Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello,
    Thank you everyone for your kind suggestion and intruction.

    to Justin-san;
    Unfortunately again, I phisically UNPLUGED my power code before I reswitch ON after codefree command, the result was the same (display said that the my region 1 disk is not match the unit.)

    to Dinderi-san;
    Thank you so much again for your detailed instruction. I appreciate that ! But as you mentioned, this work is too complicated for me to do, and I am not able to have self-confidence to do that exactly.

    So I've decided to wait for your link to the new fm.

    Agiain, thank you everyone.
    :)
  14. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    But you don`t need new firmware to mod a DV600! I mod these on a daily basis no problem whatsoever, its the standard Pioneer IR mod as originally detailed in this post at the top. the only difference being I use the original Pioneer factory service remote (Pioneer dealer) but the coes doing the rounds on the net that you use via a OFA or laptop/etc are clones of the same code and work fine.

    Pioneer dvd players have not needed firmwares to be changed to make them multiregion since the days of the x4x range (4th gen) back late 2002! They all use the same code, including the newer ranges of dvd recorders. No exceptions!1

    I can only say that if you did the above, then you have done something wrong and thats why it does not work. If you have a local Pioneer authorised dealer nearby, ask them if they can make it multiregion (for a fee) or one of the many multiregion modification suppliers on the net whom will sell or rent you a working remote to mod your unit. Failing that, if you`ve only just bought it, return it and buy one pre-modded from a specialist AV retailer!
  15. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Motomoto-san, as Justin wrote it is strange your player does not work with described hacks. I also think, you do something wrong.

    Any way, I sent you Private Message. Please answere my ask in it. I enchanced dv-600 original firmware to let you switch your player into 'multiregion mode', using just your ordinary Remote Control.
    Best regards
    :thumbsup:
  16. t0315im

    t0315im Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
  17. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    It works on ALL regions of this model. If in doubt, click on the forum sponsor banner below then select your model and read the info regarding non UK/European Region 2 models.
  18. t0315im

    t0315im Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Can you show the url for DV-400 or DV-600AV for japanese model ?

    thanks
  19. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105
    ? As per earlier message click on the forum sponsor banner, go to the Pioneer section, then click on the model you have and read the notes about non UK/European Region 2 models.

    Japan is Region 2 anyway (Dual forma PAL/NTSC), identical to the UK and Europe - all units manufactured for Region 2 are the same specification.
  20. kungfumaster007

    kungfumaster007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Motomoto san,

    Do you have Japanese model of DV-600AV? I have Japanese model of DV-400V and tried the Philips Pront mothod with Logitech Harmony. Same thing happened to me. When I pressed the button on the remote, the DVD player turned off but when I put Region 1 DVD, it says region setting of the disc is different from the player's setting and ejects the disc.
  21. Justin@UH

    Justin@UH Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    2,107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +105


    That makes no difference! Japanese DV-400s are Region 2 PAL/NTSC dual format, just the same as UK/European models! I`ve modded and provided mods for many Jap DV600s & 400s, no problems.

    You don`t state above that you unplugged the unit from the mains, if you don`t the mod will NOT work anyway, and must be unplugged as soon as the player reboots/shuts down.

    If you did this, then you must have done something wrong. As stated many times, this hack works on these models no problem.
  22. kungfumaster007

    kungfumaster007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I just tried unplugging the unit after it shut down by the hack method, but still didn't work. It says "Incompatible region code. Can't play disc" when I put Region 1 Disc. Is there anything else that I can do to make it work?
  23. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Kungfumaster007-san,
    Please register on http://forum.pioneerdivx.net and write your problem at English section. I'll answere you there, how to fix this problem. If you have any problems with "register confirmation e-mail", please send me an info at "dinderi [at] yahoo [dot] au".
    Regards
  24. kungfumaster007

    kungfumaster007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    dinderi san,

    I tried to email you but delivery failed twice. I haven't received activation email from the pioneerdivx.
  25. dinderi

    dinderi Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Sorry I made a mistake in my e-mail adress.:rolleyes:
    The correct one is:
    dinderi [at] yahoo [dot] com [dot] au

    Please send me your nick name and email adress you registered with. I'll activate your account manualy.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  26. kungfumaster007

    kungfumaster007 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    dinderi san,

    Thanks. I downloaded the firmware from the site and was able to make my Dv-400V region free.
  27. CHFels

    CHFels Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +46
    I don't doubt that the code works, but the package one downloads from the link on the 1st post leaves a lot to be desired. WinLIRC is extremely limited and unhelpful for the non-programmer, and in any case seems incompatible with the IRDa drivers from Win98 onward. I followed the instructions exactly - modifying the .inf files as instructed - and WinLIRC did not seem to be able to take charge of my IR port. The key bit of instructions is this:

    When you do this windows will recognise irda port as : Generic Ir Serial Port
    If you modified the ini files and windows didn't recognise your irda port as Generic Ir Serial Port then remove the irda port and restart your pc. Windows will now find a new hardware (Generic Ir Serial Port) and install it.

    Poking around on the net regarding Generic Ir Serial Port reveals that this driver has not been included in Windows since Win95! :eek: Win98 can apparently be hacked into accepting the driver, but fuggedaboudit on XP. And I don't have a Win98 laptop handy . . . not many of us do. :mad:

    So: WinLIRC only works with the ancient Generic IR driver, not many of us can use it to send the code to our Pios. Anyone have a suggestion for a more up-to-date program that can send a simple IR code??? :lease:

    CHFels
  28. CHFels

    CHFels Member

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2007
    Messages:
    479
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +46
    bump - Anyone succeed in unlocking a Pio 600 with a laptop's IR??

    Or has anyone else tried the new firmware on a western-european DV600?

    CHFels
  29. zoro

    zoro Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    253
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Dinderi San! which language is this forum, could you please send me direct link to US 400V region free firmware?
  30. Tapey

    Tapey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hey everyone. I just recieved my Pioneer dvd player. It is this model here:

    http://www.play.com/Electronics/Electronics/-/262/342/-/3437710/Pioneer-DV-600AV-K-Universal-DVD-Player-With-HDMI-Output-And-USB-Host/Product.html?searchtype=genre#

    I was wondering, could anyone advise me with the best way to make it multi region?

    I do not have any of the tools available in the first post (a laptop with infrared, a palm etc) and could ideally do with some easier method such as burning something to a disc and putting it into my dvd player to make it region free.

    Is there any options like this available to me? Any and all help would be very appreciated. If someone could email me any firmwares to burn to disc and insert that would be great. My email is gospastic @ gmail.com

    Thankyou =)

Share This Page