Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

using sky and freesat together

Discussion in 'Freesat Forum' started by jdingley, Jan 3, 2009.

1. jdingley

jdingley Guest

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi

I've had a good look around the web but have failed to find an answer to my question so i thought i would try here.

Basically i have a sky subscription that has a link to my sons tv upstairs so he can watch sky; only one sky channel can be watched though as we do not have an addtional room payment.

Currently downstairs i have a freeview box which i use when my son is watching sky but the reception is poor and by the look of the estimates it will only get worse as the service unfolds.

What i would really like to do is add freesat - can this be done using my existing sky service and dish so that i can watch one channel on freesat while my son wtaches a sky paid service and vice versa?
  2. Trollslayer

Trollslayer Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,635
    As long as you have a LNB on the dish with enough outputs, you need a separate feed for each recevier.
    BTW, if the signal is poor sometimes you need a new aerial for digital TV reception.
  3. nvingo

nvingo Active Member

Ratings:
    +340
    By DSO the Freeview signal should be as robust as analogue is currently.
  4. grahamlthompson

grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +3,096
    If only. There are loads of places that are served by low power boosters that will never get freeview (especially in the more remote and mountainous areas). That's the whole raison d'etre for Freesat
  5. worldsbiggest

worldsbiggest Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,

I have a similar query. I'm looking at buying one of the panasonic freesat sets but already have a sky+ box using the only satellite connection in my flat from the communal dish on my building.