Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Trying To Learn Electric Guitar

Discussion in 'Musicians' Forum' started by Spacedeck, Jul 14, 2011.

  1. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    ah right. head to ultimate guitar and download a tab you want, you'll have to find one that's guitar pro, it will probably be a .gp5 file. The open guitar pro, then file, open and open the tab you've just downloaded.
    Do you know which version of GP you've got?
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  2. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    It's GP6. Could you find an example as to how to download? As I can't seem to find a way of downloading them.
  3. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
  4. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    I find the easiest way is to type "<song name> guitar pro tab" into Google, that should take you onto a page with a link somewhere.
  5. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Oh right so you can't just download any song :(

    Just noticed with these it will just be the tab right? No sound? I thought you could play this and eliminate things like drums, bass and just listen to what you wanted to?
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2011
  6. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    If it's a Guitar Pro file, you'll get sound, if its just a normal tab, just the tab is all you get.
  7. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    If you follow the link i gave you, you can search for any song and download the guitar pro tab, it will give give you all the tracks, drums, bass, guitars, vocals etc
  8. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    I get this message in a yellow box.. "Some track do not have assoiated soundbank. Please download them by clicking on GP6 logo..."
  9. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    If you want to pm me your email address, I'll email you a GP tab for Smoke on the Water, if you want, just so you can see how it's supposed to work.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  10. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    maybe GP6 works in a different way because that should work. I use GP5. Try a few other tabs from UG as it could just be that tab
  11. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Lol this program is more complicated then I imagined. If I have a CD I want to learn is there a program to convert it to the correct file type and also display the tabs for it when I open it?
  12. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    On it's way. It's a Gp3 tab I believe, I've got in my GP iPhone app, as far as I know they're all backwards compatible, should at least give you an idea how it's supposed to work.
  13. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    The soundbank might actually be the sound files in which case you wont be able to hear the sounds. Did you download a demo version? if so maybe that's why
  14. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    Most of it goes way over my head :rotfl:

    Would be nice if there was such a program. I think downloading tabs or transcribing them yourself is the closest you'll get.
  15. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Nah it was the full version.. I went back on the website and they have a list of different packs to download. So downloading the main ones at the moment like Bass, Electric, Singer and Drums and hope for the best. Will take all night though. We moved recently and my internet has taken a massive hit compared to what i was on.

    And Gooner still got no sound with that file so i suppose need them sound files.
  16. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    There's sound when I play it in the app on my iPhone, haven't tried it on the Pc version and it's a while since I installed the Pc version, so you could well be right about needing those sound files.

    You should still be able to play from the tabs though, even if there's no sound.
  17. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Downloading iPad App now so will have a go on that if i work out how to get it working.
  18. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    The app is so much simpler :)

    Way too many buttons and options in the Pc version for me to get my head around.

    The app though, just add a tab or select one that's already in it and your good to go.
  19. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Right well just connected the App to my PC and transfered the Deep Purple and Metallica track over. Both have sound... BUT Metallica for some reason is playing a piano version. And some sort of brass band version.. sounds a bit dodgy lol.
  20. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    If it's the same as the iPhone one, on the main screen when you've loaded the tab, in the bottom left, there should be three lines on top of each other, go into that screen and you should be able to pick any of the sounds you want.
  21. Singe

    Singe Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2008
    Messages:
    250
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +58
    Try running your files on Tux Guitar. Works the same as Guitar Pro, supports GP3, 4 and 5 files, and its free :thumbsup:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  22. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Downloaded and gave it a go. Sounds the same as it did in GP6 so it's a bit confusing. I have now downloaded all the soundbanks for GP6 but it still sounds nothing like it should do! It just seems like a brass band with trumpets and other same type of instruments and also a piano.. i hear no resemblence of any guitar! I can't learn any of the songs if it doesn't sound right.
  23. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    You should have this at the bottom, double click on the instrument and change it
    [​IMG]


    Uploaded with ImageShack.us
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  24. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    IIRC, it's not going to sound like a proper guitar. It's more to give you an idea of what the general gist of the tune is, tempo, rests etc...

    Try YouTube, or Justin guitar, at least then you'll see and hear people actually playing a guitar.

    Don't try and run before you can walk, you need to learn at least some of the basics or your not going to get any sort of sound out of it, I know I didn't :)

    I did find it very frustrating at the start, mainly getting annoyed that I couldn't play any songs "right now, dammit!!!" :rotfl:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  25. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    Yep, that looks like a more complicated version of what I see on the iPhone app.
  26. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    I have managed to get it sounding alright at the moment but need some more tweaking. I noticed on some of the TABS though you can have htings like..

    -------
    -------
    ---0---
    -------
    -------
    ---0---

    How you supposed to play them? As strumming one then the other wouldn't that be playing 2 different notes?
    Last edited: Jul 16, 2011
  27. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    You have to play them both together but mute the other strings so they don't make a noise. Do this by resting your finger on them, but not pressing them against the fret board. You can either mute strings with other fingers or the same finger that you are holding the first note with
  28. Goooner

    Goooner Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2005
    Messages:
    20,004
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,715
    I thought you only mute them if there was an x in the tab?
  29. reformz

    reformz Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    364
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +28
    And X is a dead note which is pretty much muting a string but in such a way that it still produces some sound. used quite a bit in fast skate punk bandsetc
    But if there are 2 notes too be played at the same string you have to mute them so that you can strum, unless you awkwardly pick them together
  30. Spacedeck

    Spacedeck Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2008
    Messages:
    855
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +37
    Just started trying to learn the solo for Take It Out On Me by BFMV. Got the first part and sounds pretty good to me.

Share This Page