Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Toshiba Hack

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Player Multiregion Hacks' started by Sick Note, Dec 30, 2001.

  1. Sick Note

    Sick Note Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Messages:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Just thought I´d let you guys in on a little info regarding hacking the tosh players.
    A bud of mine works for them and he was telling me that the players can be easily hacked with a firmware cd rom.
    They have even got the sd900 to output pal progressive with another.It´s just a case of updating the flash inside and you can basically get the player to do anything.
    I know it works cos he has a player at home he did himself at work.
  2. rigman

    rigman Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,678
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +14
    So hows about him sticking the program on the internet so we can all do it then.
    Its no good coming out with this information without giving all the Toshiba owners a chance to get hold of it themselves. :rolleyes:
  3. Stuart Wright

    Stuart Wright AVForums Founder Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2000
    Messages:
    11,388
    Media:
    11
    Albums:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Ratings:
    +6,832
    I'm sure there's be some kind of 'reward' (anonymous if required) for anyone who was first to send us a Toshiba player hacker.
  4. Sick Note

    Sick Note Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2000
    Messages:
    428
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    apparently it already is on the net but he doesn´t know where but in the mean time I´ll try and get it off him.
    Can´t promise anything though
  5. AndyBlac

    AndyBlac Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2001
    Messages:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    I would like the hacks for the SD-900E, tell me where, when & what i need to do to get them.

    Thanx

    AndyBlac
  6. Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    I really hope this isn't hot air, the performance of Tosh players would make for a very interesting PAL progressive picture. There are a few sites on the net that show you how to upgrade the firmware on Toshiba DVD roms but I haven't come across anything that lets you do this on a domestic player. I don't even know if its possible to upgrade via a flash from a cd. Nonetheless, I wouldn't dismiss this just yet though in all honesty it looks a tad dubious. Prove me wrong. Please.
  7. mattsoton

    mattsoton Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    have you had any luck with the firmware of ya mate? cause ive been looking for a hack for my toshiba for weeks now and no such luck. i like the dvd player but if i have to get a chip i think ill sell it nad get a diffrent make dvd player
  8. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,140
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Hi,

    I looked at the following site and they got back to me saying they have found a handset hack for the SD900e. Not sure whether to risk the £2.75 on it.

    http://www.dvdremotehack.com/
  9. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    well i have the toshiba hack cd which i have sent to a few members works with all sd models i have read it worked great on my sd220 and 230 see my post i got it from a site which also has a peice of old software there with a crack so i didnt post it but see my thread


    if you wanna try it then so be it
  10. GGTVBD

    GGTVBD Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    3,359
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +326
    I have the multi-region CD for the Toshiba machines. Haven't used it for over a year though. Pretty sure it'll do most of their machines.

    I'll dig it out, rip it and make it available to download f.o.c. You can then put it back on a CD and run it through your Toshiba's!

    I'll let everyone know when I've got it.

    Cheers,

    A. Dork
  11. Arthur Bitter

    Arthur Bitter Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    The link to download the file is here

    http://sd220e.chez.tiscali.fr/

    the instructions to use the disc are below ( couresty of dvdchips )

    This upgrade works on Toshiba 120 , 125 , 220 , 230 and 330 and perhaps others too.

    A.B

    Toshiba Upgrade Disc Instructions
    ---------------------------------

    Make sure that "video mode" or "picture" in the setup
    menu of your DVD player is set to AUTO and not PAL .

    Insert and play the Upgrade Disk.

    Don't worry about any messages such as
    "Loading" or "Disc Error".

    After a few secs remove the disk and unplug the DVD Player.

    Your player is now Multi region .

    If you get the message "Not PAL" then you must again alter
    the settings of the DVD player from PAL to AUTO.

    If NTSC discs play in black and White then see the FAQ
    on our website.

    http://www.dvdchips.co.uk/readthefaq/
  12. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,140
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Yep. It's not worth £2.75 as it does nothing!!

    Managed to get Pay Pal to refund me though :smashin:
  13. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    aurther bitter that file is corrupt and does not work anymore where i got mine from verifeid this and i did download it to try with unsucessful results
  14. bigjonnyauk

    bigjonnyauk Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2003
    Messages:
    724
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    i already have it made have had it a year now i was just pre warning anyone else

    got mine from richer sounds lol when i bought player
  15. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,140
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +232
    Any SD900e owners want to try this probably non working handset hack. Did nothing for me but "apparently" does something for some SD900e's.

    Open tray via remote.
    Press 5
    Press7
    Press 9
    Press 2

    Should be able to select regions via the remote. Use "0" for multiregion.

    Close tray.

    Let us know if this does anything.
  16. CyberSurfer

    CyberSurfer Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone know of an upgrade for a SD100 so it can play DVD-RWs or DVD+RWs ?

    Ta in advance

Share This Page