1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Tivo, 720p or 1080i ?

Discussion in 'Virgin Media' started by sejanus6th, Feb 21, 2013.

  1. sejanus6th

    sejanus6th Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Having read loads of posts regarding Tivo's lack of full1080p and hearing the same from VM leads me to ask about the alternatives. The installation man advised using 720p. I have an LG 42" 3d full HD 1080p with freeview tuner.
    HD picture on freeview is perfect. Not so on Tivo. What is my best option on Tivo?
  2. bsuttie

    bsuttie Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,544
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Ratings:
    +221
    If you have a 1080 TV then use 1080. UK HD broadcasts are all normally 1080.
    You do not want to be going 1080 to 720 to 1080. Doesn't make any sense in my opinion.

    regards

    Brian
  3. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    Broadcast TV in the UK is only 1080i.
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,339
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,066
    Freeview-HD has quite a lot of 1080p25 content.
  5. Ernie_C

    Ernie_C Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2006
    Messages:
    936
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +111
    I stand corrected......

    ..... Not on Sky or Virgin Media, however.
  6. bamber1981

    bamber1981 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2008
    Messages:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    It could be worth looking at the screen settings on the TV to see if you can improve the picture. I don't know anything about LG TVs, but my Sony TVs can be set up for each input and have a "full pixel" setting which, I find, gives a much better picture than the factory setting, which overscans the picture. Using that setting with the TiVo output on 1080i means that the picture is displayed exactly as broadcast, with no conversion.
  7. md078

    md078 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Messages:
    114
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    I've got an LG 42LM620 so 42" full HD screen and it needs the tivo set up to output 1080i or the picture looks terrible, probably due to converting it from 1080 to 720 to 1080 again.

    But whatever the reason, stick it on 1080i. if in doubt try both, it will take 2 minutes.

    Plus find some suggested settings on here, I did and it's a lot better than the factory settings.
  8. sejanus6th

    sejanus6th Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks to everyone's replies. I reset Tivo box to 1080i which does give a better picture, still not as good as freeview though. Maybe Virgin Media's next tv ad should state this failing.
    When I emailed them they replied saying that I should ring their technical help line. The nice Indian gentleman I spoke to advised me that the best course of action would be to email Virgin's tech help. Conspiracy theories anyone?:(
  9. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    Nah, just poorly briefed support staff. You'd probably get the same response if you asked what colour the TiVo box was :)
  10. Boostrail

    Boostrail Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,050
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +384
    I do not have a TiVo but a V+HD box this delivers far better SD than any freeview I have seen. The early TiVo boxes were criticised on here for not being as good as the V+HD in this respect and a firmware upgrade was applied after which it seemed that the performance was similar. However these earlier TiVos were made by Cisco Systems. The boxes being distributed now are made I believe by Samsung.... are they perhaps not of the same standard as the updated earlier boxes?
  11. st170dan

    st170dan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    i'm sure my tivo box has the option for 1080p? it performed some sort of scan to make sure my tv was compatible.
  12. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    The TiVo boxes do indeed have a 1080p @ 25fps option, but the boxes cannot upscale beyond 1080i. The setting would allow 1080p/25 video broadcasts to be passed through the box to a suitable display. The option is greyed out for many because 1080p @ 25fps is not a standardised format and not catered for by every HD TV set. Cable and satellite broadcasts in the UK do not currently use 1080p @ 25fps and only freeview HD have so far broadcasted anything with 1080p @ 25fps for testing in conjunction with the BBC. Even if you've a TV that will accept a 1080p @ 25fps video signal then the TiVo will not scale lesser resolutions to this resolution and no content is broadcast over the cable network that can take advantage of the TiVo's ability to pass 1080p @ 25fps video.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 28, 2013
  13. st170dan

    st170dan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2010
    Messages:
    116
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks, useful info. So I should put it back on 1080i?
  14. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    You can leave both the 1080i and the 1080p options ticked if you wish, but nothing will be output from the box higher than 1080i. I'd ensure that the 720p option is left unchecked because the TiVo wont output anything above 720p is that option is checked. You need only have the 1080l option checked in order to get the highest resolution currently being broadcast over the Virgin network as well as the highest the box can scale SD content to.
  15. LG BEST

    LG BEST Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    am using all formats u can go to settings and select them all am using 1080p
  16. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    No you are not using 1080p. Nothing is broadcast over the Virgin Media network with anything more than a resolution of 1080i and the TiVo cannot scale video up beyond 1080i. You may have the 1080/25p option selected, but it isn't being used and you are not getting anything more than 1080i output from the box.

    Also note, do not select every option available because, as I already explained, you end up getting 720p rather than 1080i if you select the 720p option as well as the 1080i option.

    If you want the best you can possibly get from the TiVo and via Virgin Media's cable network then just select the 1080i option.
  17. LG BEST

    LG BEST Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    no i dont use interlaced .. i choose .. if the option is avaiable then means i can change it .
  18. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    The box never outputs 1080p regardless of you selecting that option in the settings..

    The best you'll get from your TiVo if all the options are selected is 720p. No Channel supplies Virgin Media with HD content with a resolution lower or higher than 1080i. If you are opting to use 720p then the STB still has to deinterlace native 1080i content and then scale it down prior to outputting it. If you've an HD TV, it then has to scale it back up to 1080 in order for the video to be pixel mapped onto the front panel. It is doubtful that the TiVo includes a better scaler or superior deinterlacing capabilities when compared to your TV? I fail to see what you've gained by choosing to use the 720p option when taking into consideration that no content is natively broadcast in the UK at that resolution and that the resolution will require as much if not more video processing than native 1080i content would require if output at 1080i?


    You may find the following of interest:

    http://www.wisegeek.com/what-is-the-difference-between-a-1080p-and-1080i-hdtv.htm

    Note that the above article refers to TV broadcasts in the USA and the refresh rate there is 60fps while it is 50fps here in the UK.


    So, you'll only benefit from using the 720p option if receiving content natively encoded as 720p, but no broadcaster in the UK uses 720p for HD TV broadcasts! The current standard as used in the UK for HD TV is 1080i. 1080p has been used, but only via Freeview HD and not via Virgin Media cable.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  19. LG BEST

    LG BEST Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    ooh man dot worry i know more about this stuff than u heh .. been it technician and working with electronics 20 years.. just this tivo-stuff is few days in my house..
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2013
  20. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    Really? Well you're not giving that impression here. You don't even appear to be able to use English, let alone convey any kind of technical experience regarding "this stuff". Please explain to me why I'm wrong and why I've to keep explaining it to you if you are so technically adept???
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  21. LG BEST

    LG BEST Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    firstly dont cut my post or modify but show it fully ..
    secondly i didnt say u wrong.. by modifying my sentence u totaly changing meaning of sentence..
  22. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    I'll quote you as I please and as tempted as I am to correct your spelling, your words were in no way modified.
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2013
  23. LG BEST

    LG BEST Member

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    dont change topic about som spelling .. yeah tivo chanels are 720p i know
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 11, 2013
  24. MaryPatricia

    MaryPatricia Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    4
    Ratings:
    +0
    It may well be value observing the screen settings on the TV to examine if you'll be able to improve the image. i do not apprehend something concerning LG TVs, however my Sony TVs are often came upon for every input and have a "full pixel" setting that, I find, provides a way higher image than the works setting, that overscans the image. exploitation that setting with the TiVo output on 1080i means the image is displayed specifically as broadcast, with no conversion.
  25. metalguru

    metalguru Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    This was mentioned in post 6 in a more understandable version of english as I recall:D
  26. dante01

    dante01 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    24,670
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,420
    You mean apart from post 6 being slightly incorrect?


    A 1080i source is not displayed exactly as 1080i on any flat panel display and processing of the signal is required in order to deinterlace it. Flat panel displays can only display progressive video so all interlaced video has to be deinterlaced by the TV irrespective of one to one/native pixel mapping. ;)


    I didn't know that you could read English metalguru. Well done :smashin:
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2013
  27. metalguru

    metalguru Member

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Messages:
    486
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +34
    I can't read English Dante you are absolutely right as usual .

    Hail to the king
  28. bxd

    bxd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,486
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +146
    Hi,

    While I appreciate that some of the posts on this thread could have been better "expressed", some of the responses from experienced members (who should know better) are bordering on the rude and aren't very encouraging to new members. I'd be grateful if members would refrain from unhelpful remarks. If you have a problem understanding what a member has said then please ask them for a bit more explanation. While, I appreciate your experience and comments to help clarify some of the matters raised, it would be nice if you did it in a more encouraging and friendly tone.

    Thank you,

    Brian
  29. Boostrail

    Boostrail Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    5,050
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +384
    Thanks BXD for placing a restraint on this dialogue.

    However I can assure you that as someone who worked for a TV manufacturing company for 35 years and remains an enthusiast of TV technology that Dante01 is totally correct and Ethos appears to be totally misguided.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  30. bxd

    bxd Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2001
    Messages:
    1,486
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +146
    Hi,

    Yes, I quite agree with Dante01, but let's not be too harsh on Ethos (and others) as we try to "enlighten" them.

    Brian

Share This Page