Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

The Toshiba HD-XE1 Owner's Thread - Part 2

Discussion in 'Blu-ray & DVD Players' started by kingfats, Dec 10, 2008.

  1. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010

    Did you unscrew the fan and turn it around, there should be a sticker in the centre.

    if you lightly tap the Pcb broads, sometimes this brings up Vibration to the chassis and Board worth a go while lid is off.
  2. Spader

    Spader Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK, checked this, it's a Delta Brushless DSB0512LD

    [​IMG]
    looks like someone has blogged about replacing it here
    http://gregssentinelpointoccasionaltheater.blogspot.com/2007/12/resolving-fan-noise_30.html


    I have one of these sitting here boxed
    [​IMG]
    http://www.quietpc.com/gb-en-gbp/products/50mmfans/fd-fan-50
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  3. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    That's the Right fan for the player, the Xe1 that got replaced had same fan which was Noisy, the old player also had the same fan, i put this down to Faulty motor. bet you can here the fan while watching films :(.

    That is a different fan on Quiet pc when i was looking , CFM seems a bit low though, i am sure it should be around 12-13cfm.
    Last edited: Jul 8, 2010
  4. Spader

    Spader Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    So I have the noisy fan? What is the fan I should be trying to track down?
  5. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    the one you posted , the delta 0.18a.. but if you can find a really near spec that will do.. imop there was a faulty batch of theses, that's why if you plug-in exact same spec fan in this is miles Quieter.

    also if you go via Toshiba they want 40 quid for the fan.
  6. Spader

    Spader Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    74
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    I think I have one of the loud ones, my player is about as loud as my 360.
  7. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    Thats the one, but more like a fault fan motor. thing is i never striped a 360 drive, the noise maybe load due to fan so close to Pcb ect, may be worth Stripping that out and having a look if the fan is same or even trying in XE1..

    Looking for theses fans can be a bit of a pain i.e amps,volts ect :(. also like i said above there is a 0.09A version of that Delta fan, have a look if you take that 360 fan out.
  8. JonStatt

    JonStatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,319
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +436
    My XE1 is still going strong and quiet. But I have read many reports over the months of the HD DVD laser failing. If that does happen to me, is this something I will be able to service myself? Will Toshiba still have stock of drive units and be prepared to sell that part individually? I don't want to risk a dead HD DVD collection.....
  9. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,122
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    Might be worth looking at a spare player and/or a HD-DVD Xbox360 addon drive..

    That's my plan :D

    Got a spare player and if they both go then I'll use the Xbox addon drive to rip to my NAS. :smashin:
  10. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    Easy to replace takes around 20 mins or so, going direct to Tosh will be dear the rear fan alone is £40, XE1 remote is £90 ect to give you an idea.

    you can get replacement lasers of ebay at around £10. look for Revised model DT0811 or the first release model PHR-803T most x-box drives have this, the E1 i bought for spares has this laser as well, but i ended up giving it mithering mother to watch some films she has not seen :D
    does not really matter they both do the same job:) Repaired my First Xe1 Demo player with one of theses lasers.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. JonStatt

    JonStatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,319
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +436
    Excellent. I will probably order one of these DT0811 lasers and keep it in store just in case.
  12. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    that's just what i did:), if you search on there every now and then you can get them under £10, got my second spare for £6.99 i could not say no to that:) you can get them on other sites and dearer but there the same 3rd party laser.
    you can also adjust the laser because most of the time they go out of sync, but you need a special tool, also read you can burn them out doing this, just seems allot of hassle this for the price you can buy them for.
  13. firekill

    firekill Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    279
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    whats the best settings for xe1 connected to onkyo 605
  14. Damian1978

    Damian1978 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2000
    Messages:
    4,199
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +237
    Not familiar with Onkyo amps but assuming it accepts HD codecs via HDMI then set up the XE1 to output Bitstream and Direct Digital On so it will transmit the HD audio direct to the HDMI input on your amp....assuming you have connected it up that way.
  15. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,122
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    If the 605 does do HD decoding, then an often missed 'feature' on the Onkyo's was that the HDMI Audio output has to be set to 'OFF' or it will not output HD audio, just 2 chanel stereo, as it's also sending it via the HDMI to your TV. Turn it OFF and you'll get HD audio if you've set your player to bitstream properly.
  16. mj-mostly

    mj-mostly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Hi,
    I have the opportunity to purchase an HD-XE1 for about £40.00. I currently have an EP10, and as a spare an EP30.
    I was wondering if it is worth getting the XE1. IE is there any improvemrnt in picture and sound quality using the XE1 over the EP10?
    Thanks,
    Mike
  17. Bald Monkey

    Bald Monkey Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    7,122
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,109
    For SD-DVD definately, for HD-DVD it's debatable, probably depends more how well setup it is along with the rest of your system etc..

    But for £40 it's a bargain, get it! :smashin: Could be one of the best SD-DVD players you ever own :laugh: :thumbsup:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  18. JonStatt

    JonStatt Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    3,319
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +436
    Whoever is selling it for 40 quid doesn't realise how much they could sell it for!! These are collector items now
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  19. mj-mostly

    mj-mostly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    Thanks for the helpful replies.
    It was Cash Convertors selling it for £39.99. I went to get it, but it was no longer on the shelf. :(

    Popped in today, and there it was again, along with other things that had been off display for a couple of weeks.
    I now have an HD-XE1 :) .

    I've tried a couple of HD discs, and it looks excellent. I'm now updating the firmware to V.4, and will then see what it is like as a DVD player.

    Mike
  20. DELUCAS

    DELUCAS Member

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 2004
    Messages:
    2,444
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +185
    Well i just sold a new ToshIba XE-1 for £449.00 plus delivery :eek:

    Just debating to pick up a used one to play my old hd collection :confused:

    £39.99 is a good price :thumbsup:
  21. mj-mostly

    mj-mostly Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2007
    Messages:
    113
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +3
    £39.99 is a good price for me, as a purchaser.
    £449.00 is an excellent price for you, as a seller!
    :thumbsup:

    I've tried some SD discs, and it is the best DVD player I have owned. I find the picture more detailed, and natural looking than both my EP-10, and my Samsung BD player.
    The BD player was my main DVD player (I wanted to prolong the life of the EP-10), but now the XE-1 is the player of choice for SD playback, with the EP-10 now a spare, along with an EP-30.
    :)
    Mike
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2010
  22. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    This info probably is berried somewhere in these XE1 threads but will ask it again.

    Got new TV that can now properly support 1080p/24. If I leave my XE1 on "Auto" which should detect 1080p/24 and output it correctly (the same as my Oppo BDP-93EU) but it's not happening at all. Every time I play a film it's comes through as 1080p/60. Only way to make it work is by changing XE1's output settings from "Auto" to "1080p/24". Which then is fine for movies but then it affects any SD material played on XE1, be it SD extras from HD-DVD disc or an actual DVD, and it causes a major stutter to video.

    Why it doesn't detect and output signal as 1080p/24 when in "Auto" mode?
  23. MarkyPancake

    MarkyPancake Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    13,460
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,722
    I noticed this behaviour and never found a fix. Despite being an annoyance, I just change it when necessary. In contrast, my Blu-Ray players auto select 24/60 playback when set to auto.
  24. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    just leave the Xe1 on 1080p/24 and set to film this is what i do, you will get Sd dvd films running at 50 or 60Hz though.
  25. toddy28

    toddy28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +344
    just got an hd-xe1 its a heavy well built bit of kit , puts my ep-30 to shame :smashin:
  26. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    Welcome to the club! :smashin:
  27. toddy28

    toddy28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +344
    cheers been after a good one for ages i have around 120 hd-dvds , just fired up transformers on my hd33 projector and it looks so much better then the ep-30 and the sound is amazing,
  28. Andris L

    Andris L Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2007
    Messages:
    3,141
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +633
    I'm not gonna chase every HD-DVD under the sun but I'm planning to get the most common and English friendly HD-DVD releases so by the time I'm finished I'll probably have somewhere around 500 discs and because of that I'm actually looking to invest into 2nd HD-XE1 :).

    Out of interest, where from did you buy your XE1 and how much did it set you back?
  29. toddy28

    toddy28 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    3,134
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +344
    from the forums i got it for £105 boxed like new , been looking for around a year and keep missing ones on ebay but most go from £100 upwards some go for silly money buy it now £50 ect but i wasen't that lucky

    there is a guy selling the american version for £100 plus postage
  30. epsonfan

    epsonfan Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2010
    Messages:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Got mine of ebay boxed for £140 with 16 hd-dvd over 2 years ago. The machine never dissappoints me, only had to change the laser once, which was no bother

Share This Page