Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Technomate TM-5200d Super Signal Loss

Discussion in 'Satellite TV Forum' started by beresina, Jun 12, 2011.

1. beresina

beresina Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hi.
    I'm new to the world of Satellite TV and wonder if anyone has some advice about the following.
    I recently bought a secondhand Technomate TM-5200d receiver. It appears to work well when first set up, scans and saves all the Astra 28.2 channels fine. However, after what is usually between one and a couple of hours, I start getting "No or bad signal" on all channels, ond and off at first, picture breaking etc., and then completely, just black screen, and any attempt at rescanning for the satellites/channels fails as both the signal quality and strength show as very low - around 50% strength, 20% for quality. And that's it. I can only get the receiver to show near perfect strench and quality, pickup, rescan and store anything again if I keep the receiver unplugged for several hours, and even then, it may only pickup just the few odd channels, only to lose them again.
    By the way, I know every other part of the system functions properly as I have no such problem with another couple of older receivers.

Anyone's got any idea what this may mean? What I should be looking at? Cheers.
  2. pedro2000uk

pedro2000uk Active Member

Ratings:
    +602
    Sounds like a failing power supply or a part related to power to the lnb - you could try cooling it with a fan & making sure it has as much ventilation & remove it from any other heat source (ie- not on another box or not in a cabinet or not near a radiator) to establish the heating connection to see if it keeps going longer if cooler.

If you have a basic test meter you could monitor the voltage output of the LNB in - should be 13vDC [or 14vDC] & 18vDC - it may be dropping after it warms up.
  3. logiciel