Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Speakers - left or right?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by henryv, Feb 8, 2009.

1. henryv

henryv Member

Ratings:
    +29
    Warm greetings,
    I am new to this section of the forum and have a real 'Newbie' question!:)
    Why does it matter that you have to have the 'Right' speaker on the right.
    i.E. if you swap them over having the 'left' speaker on the right side and vice versa what effect does it have on the sound and why?

Henry.:):):)
  2. k13 wjd

k13 wjd Member

Ratings:
    +50
    perhaps you could open your question up a bit...

what speakers are you refering too, amp...is it a 5.1setup, or just 2 channel stereo.

Ive a small feeling that the answer will be the same regardless.......there will be no difference in the right and left speakers - ive only ever seen one set of cabinets that were truly sided.....and they were custom build for the room - and so could ONLY go one way, due to their physical attributes.

What does matter, is that you wire them up correctly...I.e the left output from the amp goes to the left channel.....and vice versa.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. blue max

blue max Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,656
    I think you may be asking non-specifically, rather than about a particular speaker - correct me if I'm wrong.

When the material was recorded, a combination of the left and right channels converge to place the singer in the centre (generally), with instruments to one side or another. Swopping the speakers over is going to have an effect, which will be akin to having your back to the stage.

Chances are it would sound ok, but not what the sound engineer had laboured to achieve. Swop them over and see if you can tell :smashin:

Graham
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. k13 wjd

k13 wjd Member

Ratings:
    +50
    i think the OP needs to clarify what he meant