1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony NEX-5 16mm v 18mm - 55mm lens usage

Discussion in 'Digital Photography' started by Nuggsy, Jan 23, 2011.

1. Nuggsy

Nuggsy Member

Ratings:
    +104
    I've decided it's time to upgrade from a point & click & am toying with a Sony NEX-5.
    My reason for upgrading is I want improved image quality. The reason I'm considering the Sony NEX-5 is size.

Being a complete novice, with little to no understanding of technical terminology, I'm unsure of which of the available buying options I should go for.

From what I've read the 16mm lens is wider than the 18mm - 55mm option & the 16mm does not have zoom capability.

Could someone please explain to me in simple terms the expected practical uses of each of the lenses? Do I need both?

F.Y.I. The camera will be used for basic family stuff (days out / beach & city holidays / my daughter horse riding & indoors at home).

Many thanks in advance.

Nuggsy
  2. twist

twist Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,246
    For your suggested uses id personally go with the 18-55 it will give you loads more flexibility just wont be as fast as the 16mm n low light conditions, the nex-5 does a great job of higher iso though.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. Nuggsy

Nuggsy Member

Ratings:
    +104
    What is the use of the 16mm? What type of images would you capture with it?
  4. twist

twist Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,246
    Wide angle - although on a crop sensor its not so wide tbh. Youre losing 2mm compared to the 18-55 which isnt loads, but what you are gaining is f2.8 which means you can shoot faster at lower iso in poorer light, think cloudy, dark or dim light indoors. Also the 16mm is loads smaller. You will need to use your legs to zoom in and out.