Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sony ES or Harman Kardon

Discussion in 'Hi Fi Systems & Separates' started by NavSG, Jan 28, 2012.

1. NavSG

NavSG Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Hi,

I'm just starting out in putting together a hi fi system. Been doing research and it seems some of the vintage Sony and HK gear could be worth a shot. I mainly listen to Garage, House, D'n'B, Hip Hop and R'n'B. So i'm after an amp with good solid bass and decent midrange. So far I have pinpointed Sony TA-F700ES and HK 6550 or HK 680 as potential amps. Any recommendations for which amp is best suited for my music needs ? Also, what speakers will make a good pairing to these amps (budget £250 for speakers second hand).

TIA
  2. alexs2

alexs2 Active Member

Ratings:
    +1,712
    Always had a soft spot for Sony ES and TA amps.

Built like tanks to very high standards and still quite collectible.
  3. NavSG

NavSG Member

Ratings:
    +1
    Can anyone recommend a good pre amp to be used with a pair of Sony TA-N55ES power amps.
  4. Van Dam

Van Dam Member

Ratings:
    +174
    If you are looking specifically at Sony preamps then you may be limited for choice as they are hard to obtain. I currently have a TA-E1000ESD preamp, which is highly regarded in its 2ch performance. Alternatively, an ES integrated stereo amp with preamplifier outputs would work well. I used to use one with my twin N55ES amps. You would do well with either of these choices.
  5. CJROSS

CJROSS Active Member

Ratings:
    +357