1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Sky HD over video sender with HDMI - It this possible?

Discussion in 'Sky, Sky+, Sky HD & Sky 3D' started by marballs, Nov 19, 2007.

  1. marballs

    marballs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I know little about this technology other then what I have recenlty learnt.

    In summary, we tried to install Sky HD in two rooms (each with their own box and shiny nw large LCD TV's) but due to cabling issues we cannot have a sky box in the main room.

    Looking for another wireless solution (we still have Sky HD in the room below the main room). I've heard about video senders and therefore would like to know:
    1) are they any good?
    2) Is there a particular good model which also will allow control of Sky +?
    3) Is it possible to get the HD quality transmitted?
    4) if so do they have HDMI inputs?
    5) Any other advice about getting it to work is greatly appreciated. Particulalry sleek, fuctional models that are available.


    Thanks
  2. loz

    loz Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2001
    Messages:
    11,830
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,251
    It isn't possible to get HD wirelessly at the moment.

    There is a new wireless HDMI standard, but the range is limited, and the current units are expensive. AIUI, it is more meant today for transmission within a room (e.g. from player to display), not between rooms. Though no doubt that will quickly be enhanced.

    e.g http://www.cyberselect.co.uk/product/1257
    though this does claim 10 mtr range.
  3. marballs

    marballs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    OK thanks for that. With it not being possible at a reasoable price / distance in HD, what is the best on market alternative?
    Is there a very good standar / scart video sender out there that will still give good picure and responsive control?
  4. mpeg10

    mpeg10 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2002
    Messages:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    if you can run cable, there is hdmi over cat5 converter boxes.
  5. marballs

    marballs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Definetly cannot run cable of any kind.
  6. gmp

    gmp Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2006
    Messages:
    479
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I still use an AEI sender from Argos (u can always take their stuff back within 14 days if it doesn't work for you) but just for IR control of HD box which is in lounge (and bought an 2nd HD remote to keep upstairs). Connected sender to screen then projector in loft conversion, but to be honest once you've seen HD on one screen I don't think you will be able to put up with any senders picture quality on your others. Plus if you have wireless broadband you may have to play around with channels on sender/modem because of interference. I finished up running 15m of component and audio out of lounge and up side of house and back into loft. Hassle but the result was worth it.
  7. marballs

    marballs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Ok thanks. The full story here is this is for someone else.

    Their main living room is the centre of a large house. They have a very beuatful home which thye have worked on to complete and do not want any cables to be running across the floor or ceiling (as they would have to to reach the TV in this room) as this would completely ruin the style of the room.

    They have the HD set up in the basement, but to be able at least have the option of watching the HD in the main living room would be a real bonus (even if not the same quality but as close as possible).

    The wireless broadband channel changing is not a problem.

    So really, just looing for a ver good recommendation, but maybe thre is no such thing as a good wireelss sender.
  8. Neil Watson

    Neil Watson Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2001
    Messages:
    971
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +81
    Is there no option of running a HDMI cable up from the basement and then teminating as a HDMI wall socket on one of the walls in the living room.?Then use a HDMI wireless sender plugged into this and located next to the wall within the living room itself to reach a HDMI reciever next to the TV?
  9. marballs

    marballs Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    The basement room is directly under the living room(drilling through the floor not an option) so in theory could place a sender very high in the basement and receiver in the living room, but would still need to go trhough a floor (and a heated floor at that).

    The place does have speakers in all of the room ceilings but who fitted these and wiring diagrams are non existance.

    Also the place does have an old cable / aerial ystem from the garage to each room. This is what we planned to use to get Sky HD to the living room, but the professional installers on trying it out said for whatever reason the old system (about 14 years old) does not carry the current across to the living room socket so one just cannot get a Sky picture on it. (They refunded the cost of the second box so it was in their interest to find a way to mkae it work).

    hence we are looking into video senders as a compromise.

Share This Page