Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Simple wii questions from a newcomer!

Discussion in 'Wii & Wii-U' started by audioenthusiast, Jan 11, 2012.

1. audioenthusiast

audioenthusiast Active Member

Ratings:
    +599
    Hi there,
    I'm new to the games area of the forums, looking for help as a complete beginner.

Over Christmas, my girlfriend and I had fun playing on a wii when we were round at friends' and relatives' houses. Neither of us are usually into computer games, but the wii was easy for us to pick up and play, and have fun with immediately.

So now we're thinking of getting our own one, as they don't seem to be too expensive.

I've had a look around at the products for sale, and my questions for you all...

What's the difference between the motion plus remote and a normal one?

From what I understand, it 'does' surround sound, but only has two-channel analogue outputs. Is it any good when connected to a mid-range AVR and speakers? (Onkyo TX-SR508, XTZ speakers)

Are the fitness/balance-board games actually any good in terms of fitness/toning? Dianne has expressed an interest in this if it is.

What is the usual lifespan of the console? It's cheap, so I'd expect not built to particularly high standards. Is buying second-hand therefore a bad idea? Is there any particular thing that often breaks?

Does the sensor part work equally well mounted below the screen as above it? Our TV is mounted relatively high on the wall.

Can you recommend any specific games/bundles for us? The console would have to be black to meet Dianne's approval.

Think that's all for now. Thanks for reading!
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012
  2. audioenthusiast

Ratings:
    +599
  3. Badger0-0

Badger0-0 Well-Known Member

Ratings:
    +2,008
    I've never seen a motion plus, so can't comment on that one.