Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Siemens Gigaset SE572

Discussion in 'Networking & NAS' started by wesman316, Jul 30, 2009.

  1. wesman316

    wesman316 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    I don't know if this is the right place to post this but I have an old Siemens Gigaset SE572 Router which I got when I was with Orange Broadband and I no longer use it. I was looking to know if this old orange router could be used as a broadband router for other ISP'S.
    Basically what I am wanting to know is I am thinking about switching to ADSL24 for my broadband. They do not supply a router and I want to know if I can use this old router for my broadband without having to buy a new router. If I can, does anybody know what I would have to do to configure it to work with another broadband provider.
    Thanks in advance for your help.
  2. beerhunter

    beerhunter Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +759
    The only thing that can stop your using it is if you can't change the User Name/Password. Go into tht setup and see of that can be done. Then, when you get your ADSL24 User Name/Password, enter them and Bob's your uncle.
  3. wesman316

    wesman316 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Beerhunter for your reply.
    I have checked the settings and yes I can change the username and password. There were alot of other settings which I thought might had to be changed.

    Also as I said, I got the router directly from Orange. They have their branding logo stamped on the router and when I access the settings for the router Orange have their logo on the settings as well. Because of this I just wanted to check that I could reuse the router with other broadband providers. I thought that Orange may have programmed or locked the router in some way that it can only be used for their broadband service.
  4. beerhunter

    beerhunter Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,335
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +759
    If you can change the User Name/Password that should not be a problem.
    Last edited: Aug 1, 2009
  5. wesman316

    wesman316 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Beerhunter

    You just saved me the cost of buying a new router.

Share This Page