Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

setting up sky email.....

Discussion in 'HTC Mobile Phones' started by andi1977dog, Dec 31, 2009.

  1. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi, i cant figure out how to setup my sky emai on my hd2. when I follow the setup instructions it brings up a message saying it can't connect , any ideas .thanks
    Last edited: Dec 31, 2009
  2. JayCee

    JayCee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    15,621
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,568
    I don't have an HD2 but this usually indicates you have incorrect settings such as SMTP server details etc.
  3. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    does anyone have any instructions on setting u
  4. lju

    lju Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    89
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +12
    Sky email runs on google mail so it should be straight forward to set up. Have you tried selecting google mail and putting in your sky account details?
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  5. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks for the tip but it still doesn't seem to work ive set up a yahoo account no probs but sky email still won't work , any further ideas ..???
  6. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    hii , still struggling.....

    ive checked the sky email account settings and pop and imap are enabled.

    ive tried to configure the handset to receive pop and imap data but neither work.

    ive now got it to the point where it trys to log in but then comes back telling me my log in details are incorrect, ive done it hundreds of times with the same results. ive checked my log in id and password on my laptop and they are correct.

    ive looked at the sky help info but that tells me what i already now, ie what to type in incoming and outgoing sever details etc

    ive treid setting it up as googlemail and "other" in the handset settings.

    so, im still stuck. does anyone have any ideas ??? there must be a sky email / htc hd2 used out there ???? many many many thanks in advance
  7. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    Hi

    I'm using a HD2 with my Sky email account. Firstly is your email account setup for IMAP (which I find better) or POP3?

    Kevin
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  8. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    hi kevin, I have pop and IMAP enabled in my sky email account settings.
  9. JayCee

    JayCee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    15,621
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,568
    I don't think you can have both, it's one or the other AFAIK.
  10. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    Yes, it's one or the other, not both.

    Kevin
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  11. Stuart P

    Stuart P Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2005
    Messages:
    1,994
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +153
  12. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    ive now gone into my sky email account a=, into settings and disabled pop. imap is still enabled. i had both options enabled.

    keviin, could you please let me know your incoming and outgpoing server details so i can try those please as its still not working. many thanks.

    also, ive noticed that when i go back into the account ive setup on the phone the password i entered has doubled automatically in size, any thoughts.

    thankls for everyones help, im sure others will have this same issue............
  13. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    PM sent
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  14. andi1977dog

    andi1977dog Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2007
    Messages:
    133
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    firsty , many thanks to kevin for wlaking me through the process, top man ! :smashin:

    the problem lay within a link to unlock my sky account. the link is below.
    i also had to change my password first before i unlocked it

    so, if you have thiis problem do the following.

    incoming - imap.tools.sky.com
    outgoing - smtp.tools.sky.com

    on the second screen where the incoming server is entered put @sky.com after your log in name.

    once setup , change your password in your oniline sky account. then use the link to unlock it.

    www.sky.com/unlock

    you can only have pop OR imap enabled in your online sky settings, i used imap.

    then things should work.................
  15. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    Glad you're all sorted Andy. :thumbsup:
  16. JayCee

    JayCee Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2004
    Messages:
    15,621
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,568
    I hope the OP has a better customer experience than I've had with the HTC UK Service Centre in Slough...absolutely shocking so far...it's a long story but stick with it, it's eye-opening.

    Due to a staining issue (caused by carrying in an official HTC leather case) on the front of my 2 week old white Teflon-coated HTC Hero (bought sim-free from Mobile Fun - Mobile Accessories, Bluetooth Headsets, SIM Free Mobiles, Ringtones, Games & more! and who didn't want to know and palmed me off to the phone manufacturer HTC...even though they advertise a "30 day no quibble return guarantee" that's another story worth a thread of it's own) HTC agreed to replace the phone housing...I asked them if they could replace the white phone housing with a brown one and they arranged for it to be collected by UPS to get this done...

    They told me they couldn't fit a brown housing as it was an Orange exclusive colour (not true)
    Said they'd fit a new "Silver" (Graphite) housing.
    Used UPS "Standard" courier service which takes 2/3 days.
    Returned my repaired phone after a week with its new housing...White (not Graphite as agreed) :confused: but minus the white rear cover :eek:
    When I immediately phoned them to report this (4pm on a Wed) was told that dept was closed for the day but someone from the "Escalations" dept would phone me the following day (Thurs)...no one phoned me that day.
    The following day (Fri) I got a call late PM from someone at HTC apologising profusely and telling me a brand-new white rear cover would be sent out to me on the following Monday.

    Meanwhile over the weekend since my Hero had been in for a "service" I received an automated "Customer service Excellence Survey" email with around a dozen questions on how I found their service with answers to be ticked on a scale of 1 where I was "very satisfied" and 10 being "very dissatisfied"...needless to say I answered this survey truthfully giving just about all questions a 10 and the reasons why in the user comments section.
    This must have rung alarm bells when they received it as the following day (Monday) I received a phone call at work on my mobile from someone of senior authority at HTC who went over the events as described and again apologised and asked me if I wanted to return it (to be arranged by them) to get the housing replaced by the graphite one...or was I happy just to keep it in white and they'd post a new white rear cover...I had now just made up my mind to keep it in white as I didn't want to return it again and be without it over Xmas so I told him someone from HTC had already told me they were posting out the new white cover that day.

    He then said if the new white cover hadn't arrived by Monday afternoon :confused: (odd as this was Monday morning) or Tuesday at the latest for me to phone him and gave me his name (at my insistence).
    Tuesday no UPS delivery, but considering it took 2 days for UPS to pick it up orginally and deliver to HTC I thought I'd give it one more day.
    Wednesday 16th Dec no UPS delivery so far (2:30pm) so I decided to phone HTC and asked to speak to this person of senior authority, needless to say he wasn't in that day and the person on the end of the phone asked if it was something he could help me with so I told him I was disgusted with the service I'd received so far from HTC :( and I related the chain of events.
    He was aghast and told me he would now "take charge" of my problem and see it through and would keep me informed of what was happening all the way through, he gave me his name and said he would take it up with the service manager.
    I asked him given the chain of events could HTC not just replace my Hero with a brand new one and he said he would run it by the service manager and phone me back.
    He phoned me back in 10 mins and said due to no stock (Aye right :rolleyes:) they couldn't send me a new one but they would arrange for it to be picked up the following day and fit a new housing, I asked if they could fit a brown one and he agreed to this and would arrange the UPS pickup for the following day.

    5 mins later he phoned me back...no, he says apologising, the brown colour is a Vodaphone exclusive :rolleyes: I told him the Hero is available sim-free in Brown, Pink or White at all online retailers in the UK but he wasn't having it and said the Hero in brown was an East European model (not true) and it would need to be graphite...I agreed to this and asked him if I'd have it back before Xmas (this is Wed 16th Dec), yes he said "I'm pretty sure it will be".
    10 mins later UPS arrive at my door with a package, I sign and open it, it's a brand new rear cover...brown :rotfl: I don't bother phoning HTC.

    Thurs 17th Dec. UPS collect my Hero which I package with a postit note attached to it's front body stating what's to happen to it and Mr X and Mr Y know what's to be done if in any doubt to check with them and the software has not to be touched as it has the most up-to-date and Mr X has agreed to this.

    Mon 21st Dec. Automated email from HTC acknowledging receipt of phone.
    I phone Mr X and remind him of what's to be done etc and he reassures me.

    Wed 23rd Dec. Mr X phones me in the morning at my work and proudly reminds me of how he promised to take charge of my problem and keep me informed every step of the way, good news, he says "you know how you wanted a brown housing, well, guess what...we've managed to get one and it's getting fitted as we speak", "great" I said and thanked him and asked if he thought I'd get it back before Xmas, "I'm sure you will" he says.

    Now, given the time of year and the worst wintry conditions we've had in the last 20 years up here (Lanarkshire, Central Scotland) I wasn't holding my breath and thought. okay, if they courior it today I'll probably get it around Tues 29th/Wed 30th Dec and just resigned myself to that hope.

    Wed 30th Dec. Late morning, no UPS delivery so I phoned HTC and asked to speak to Mr X. After being put on hold for a while I was told Mr X wasn't at his extension so I asked to be put through to Mr Y, I can't talk to him either, I'm told he's in at a meeting so I give the call centre operative my job number and ask if it's been posted, no, it hasn't I'm told and there will be no deliveries going out before Monday 4th Jan :mad::mad::mad:
    I relate my story to her and ask given the circumstances couldn't they send it that day using the next day delivery service, 'no' I'm told, 'that's not possible, there's no deliveries going out that day at all"... I tell her I want to make an official complaint of extremely poor service and could she put me through to someone senior, "no they're all in at a meeting" she says I can go to their website and use the "contact us" button which will bring up a Tel and Fax number...I do this and phone the number and it goes to voicemail stating their closed for the Xmas/New Year holidays until Monday 4th Jan :mad:

    Later that day I get an email from Mr Y at HTC...

    "I am sorry to hear the device has not yet been returned.
    The cover swap has already been approved and agreed through the Customer Service manager during a review meeting I had with him last week.

    I will endeavour to have the device shipped today, however if the tesing is not completed then it will not be possible to return the device to you until next week as there are no shipments from the repair centre tomorrow.

    Please note, C*****N (Mr X) is not in today and I will be in meetings all afternoon and unable to come ot the phone.

    I will update you once more when I have further informaiton"


    What testing? :eek:, what's the bets they've wiped it.
    18 bloody days to remove 4 screws, remove the innards and screw them onto a new housing :mad::mad::mad:

    I'm incensed by this level of service from a major player in the mobile phone world.
    They're either very understaffed, inefficient or, more likely just plain disorganised.
    I'm pretty sure their main customers (O2, Orange, T-Mob, Vodaphone etc) repairs get precedence, it's just us little minnows who pay a lot of money for their products who get treated abysmally.

    I'll update this if/when I receive it back and if it's complete and let you know what colour I get :rolleyes:
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2010
  17. duggy007

    duggy007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi
    Any chance you can send the procedure to me? I've done the sky unlock thing, but it's still not running the emails? I even spoke to HTC this morning, and they can't fix the phone for sky email?

    Any help on this (simple steps please) would be greatly appreciated

    Duggy
  18. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    Are you using POP3 or IMAP?
  19. SJGIL

    SJGIL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Hi All,

    I hope someone can help me out.

    I got my HD2 today and have set up my live.co.uk email account without any problems but I cannot get the Sky Account to work. I think I have followed all the excellent advice on here re: unlocking the sky account, have changed between POP and IMAP and just cannot seem to crack it. Have matched the account details I am using in Windows Mail which works fine and nothing. Cannot sign in on the HD2.

    Not sure what I am doing wrong something simple no doubt but if someone could help me out I would be very grateful.

    Cheers

    Simon
  20. SJGIL

    SJGIL Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2005
    Messages:
    169
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +2
    Cheers Kevin - thanks for your time and for all your help.:thumbsup:

    It's all working now :clap:

    Si
  21. duggy007

    duggy007 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2010
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi I've tried both! But could have got something wrong? Just could do with a (simple) step by step method..... Even the guy I spoke to at HTC the other day didn't have a fix, plus I've emailed sky to see if they can help:facepalm:

    Doh!
  22. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    PM sent
  23. Whytecliffe

    Whytecliffe Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    I got an HD2 this week and also cannot seem to set up Sky Mail. Can someone walk me through please.

    Thanks
  24. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    PM sent
  25. andru

    andru Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2002
    Messages:
    257
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +5
    Can you please PM me with the sky setup details please,

    Thanks
  26. Grey_Area

    Grey_Area Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2008
    Messages:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Ohhh, but this is an old thread...I have also just bought an HD2...and having trouble getting sky mail set up.

    Hope someone's still watching, coudl also do with a step-by-step setup!

    Thanks!
  27. robocop

    robocop Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    646
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +23
    What are you using, pop3 or imap settings?

    Kevin

Share This Page