satellite dish systems

shabir12

Standard Member
Reaction score
Hi i am a complete novice. Just purchased a panasonic with built in freesat receiver. I would like to be able to watch sporting events from around teh world but not with SKY subscription.
What is the best satelite system to buy and hwo much would i expect to pay with installation.
Thanks
Shab12

this question is possibly the most asked and therefore most commented on , suggest you read through some threads and you will find all the answers you need.

regards Dan

Hi and welcome to the forum.
It's usual to buy a receiver and a dish separately.
The receiver could cost from fifty pounds up to several hundreds.
You could receive from two or three satellite groups with a fixed dish, and from many more with a dish that has a motor to move it around.
A fixed dish and its installation might cost from £75, a motorised one up to £250.
There are some free channels, and subscriptions to channel "packages" are available, from £100 to well over £1000.
As Dan said there is a lot of detail on the forum, and a Google search will find you suppliers for the equipment, while the local Yellow Pages should find you companies to quote for the installation.

Hi i am a complete novice. Just purchased a panasonic with built in freesat receiver. I would like to be able to watch sporting events from around teh world but not with SKY subscription.
What is the best satelite system to buy and hwo much would i expect to pay with installation.
Thanks
Shab12