1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung PS51D6900 Owners Thread *Part 8*

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by Curly99, Feb 21, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Curly99

    Curly99 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2006
    Messages:
    8,798
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,017
  2. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Can anyone point me in the right direction on where to find firmware to upgrade from 1007 please ?

    When I go online on the tv it advises that there is not a firmware update available

    Thanks :)
  3. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,228
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,391
    Thanks will have a looksee.:)

    Yeah thanks to Redbull:) hoping its in good nick or I'll be sending it back.
  4. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Well after spending the evening with the screen I have to say it really does buzz... I mean really loud .. Not sure if it will calm down with time or a newer firmware ....
  5. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,228
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,391
    NOOooooo!!! :facepalm: back to whee I started lol.
  6. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Going to see how it goes for a few days ... Just wish I could work out how to update my firmware from 1007 ... Been online and stuck 1013 on a USB stick but when plugged into tv it says nothing is on USB stick ?!?!?

    Followed the instructions to the letter .. Very strange !
  7. vipergrm

    vipergrm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +469
    You sure your firmware is not in another sub-folder? I extracted mine directly to the USB drive as per setup instructions but I had to move the firmware folder out to the root. On the root of my USB drive I have the following folder

    T-MST5DEUC

    Below this is a folder called image. If you have the image folder in the root directory it won't work. Folder structure should be:

    root T-MST5DEUC > image > firmware update files etc
  8. lungwun

    lungwun Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,915
    Trophy Points:
    116
    Ratings:
    +509
    I got mine from amazon warehouse almost a month ago and it was untouched and in a perfectly new condition. Not too sure mine buzzes because I'm always on my xbox and that is a loud piece of hardware plus my amp is always on when I'm not on the xbox. I'd say, it is the best £600 I ever spent!
  9. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Many thanks, yes tried it that way, screen now recognises 1013 on the USB stick then gets to 3% and then displays error could not update firmware ?!?!
  10. RCD01

    RCD01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    Best way extract straight to USB, didn't have worry about image folder but did have to go to update via USB in menus to get updating.

    Updated to 1019, which seems to have got rid of the brightness pops.
  11. RCD01

    RCD01 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2007
    Messages:
    404
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +27
    Sorry to hear that, had the 59" version last year which buzzed like crazy, touch wood this one doesn't. In fact no negatives at all, which after the 6 or sets sent back in last 10 months for various reasons and this one was half the price of some of them. So very happy.
  12. cuke2u

    cuke2u Member

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2007
    Messages:
    775
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +51
    Hi, where did you get 1013 from as this isn't the one on the Samsung site..
    Chris
  13. sypack

    sypack Member

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +8
    I can see the dancing green pixels on my tv and i'm 9 feet away !

    Is it possible to alter the settings to minimize those dancing pixels?
  14. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
  15. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
  16. panman40

    panman40 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2008
    Messages:
    10,428
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,112
    Dont panic just yet, My ol mans 51" is almost silent and i have checked out two 51" D8000 and they were both silent aswell ;)
  17. Cilopaulo

    Cilopaulo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    I can say exactly the same. I've the 51D6900 for almost two months and none of the reported problems, so far. No noise. Silent as a mouse. I have to say, that it looks like I'm a very, very lucky owner.
  18. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Well I have been trying again this morning to upgrade the tv firmware via USB

    The tv recognises that there is a new version on the USB 1013.1 and starts the update only to crash after 3%

    I just do not understand it ?!?!

    Any help would be appreciated :)
  19. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,228
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,391
    :laugh: only joking:) got way more important things to worry about, once the GTs back thats it, for 600 quid as long as its not damaged or faulty I'll live with it buzz or not, just not worth the hass anymore.


    Happy Birthday by the way.:)
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  20. Cilopaulo

    Cilopaulo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    Sorry but I'm just so happy with my 51 that I don't even know which firmware mine has :)
    One thing is for certain: I wont touch it. It's perfect as it is. (well... perfect enough).
  21. vipergrm

    vipergrm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +469
    That looks like the wrong version. Assuming you are in the UK? In which case, this is the correct firmware update location

    Support for PS51D6900DK

    Not sure if there is some way of choosing an older version but this one should install
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  22. Dracula

    Dracula Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2011
    Messages:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have this 51 D6900 from September and I am more than happy with this tv.
    I am loving to watch HD material, the PQ is superb.

    But for two days now I'm having IR and I start to worry ! Should I be ? :rolleyes:
    To be honest I tried different settings and in the last two weeks I tried
    Dynamic Picture with the cell at 18.
    The IR is a channel logo in the right bottom of the tv and doesn't look like disappearing...I was watching the last couple nights this station for 2-3 hours and one evening I said to check if there is any trace of IR, using the scrolling from the menu.
    From the moment I saw the IR, I lowered the settings ( now I am on Standard with the cell at 16, contrast at 88, brightness 54, warm 2 ). I have two questions:
    1) Do I have IR (or Burn In) and it will disappear ?
    2) Can I watch again on Dynamic only for 3D ( because of the .1019 )

    I have to mention that I didn't watch that station again and I tried with full hd images (no logos at all ) so far but it's still there !!! :facepalm: :lease:
  23. BJQ1972

    BJQ1972 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    779
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +184
    This is a UK based forum, so if you are from Canada you may not get pointed in the right direction. It looks like the download you've got is the right one for a Canadian D6900.

    Other than suggest you reformat your USB stick, redownload the firmware, or try the other USB slot on the TV there's not a lot else I could think of.
  24. Cilopaulo

    Cilopaulo Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2011
    Messages:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +4
    Two weeks in Dynamic Picture??? Good Lord. Two weeks? in Dynamic? Are your eyes ok? no headache? Just kidding ;) I got mine on Movie. I only use Dynamic for 3D.
  25. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    Your a star !!!

    Many thanks :)
  26. redbull2075

    redbull2075 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    750
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +50
    I am in Surrey :)

    All sorted now

    Thanks
  27. BJQ1972

    BJQ1972 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    779
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +184
    That's a long way from Montreal.
  28. vipergrm

    vipergrm Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,362
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +469
    No worries mate. Glad you got it sorted
  29. chaz206

    chaz206 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2008
    Messages:
    967
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    still looking for this set for a good price people
  30. Scooby2000

    Scooby2000 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2010
    Messages:
    15,228
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,391
    Amazon have 8 new for 799.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page