Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Samsung C8000 Owners Thread

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by neilrlsmith, May 8, 2010.

  1. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Could someone please tell me what firmware they are on please and whether (and how) they have updated.

    Thanks.

    PS - Sorry about the short title - pressed submit too quickly.
  2. mushtak2917

    mushtak2917 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2009
    Messages:
    42
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    dude forget about what firmware! wot u wonna update the firmware for? u just got the damn tv, didn't u?.... by asking this question i take it u have already purchased this set as i will be doing in the next couple of weeks when john lewis have it in stock :)........ what i wonna know from you is .... the remote that came with the TV, is it the samsung premium (RMC301C1) remote or the standard remote?....... i have today spoken to "2" of samsungs tech guys Mod Comment: removed and both have told me that this model UE55C8000 "does" indeed come with this premium remote!!!.... but if u download the pdf user instruction guide from the smasung website it clearly describes everything for the TM1080 (standard silver)remote!!!!.....also on their website if u look at the technical specs. it shows that it does not come with a power lead!!..... so dude if u can confirm or deny this for me and the rest of the population we'de appreciate it..... let me know, cheers :clap:
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2010
  3. Silverblack

    Silverblack Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,582
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +432
    the c7000 and c8000 both come with the silver premium remote which is the TM1080. the touch screen one will come with the c9000 lcd, the power lead is also fixed to the tv as opposed to a dettached power lead.:)
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2010
  4. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    There is a firmware upgrade which I have now done. I dont care how new it is - if there is one, I want to download it.

    It comes with the standard remote and the power lead is fixed in the TV.
  5. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    And is there anyway of turning off the illuminated Samsung logo!!?
  6. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    I've just ordered this set :thumbsup: and wondered what your initial impressions of it are?

    I saw the UE55C7000 in action and loved Avatar on Bluray. I opted for the 8000 series although having seen the silver surround I'm not sure I actually like it.

    How is the 3d, cross talk seems to being discussed more and more in relation to the Samsung sets?

    Thanks in advance
  7. John1987

    John1987 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    once you have updated your firmware do you need to reset your setting again or does it keep them all saved?

    also are you wall mounting your as i want to haven't looked at the power yet but cable isn't long enough to put on the wall. Have you removed the cover to see what is behind
  8. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    It doesnt save settings.

    And my cable is 7m so I had to cut and join.
  9. SuperSquash

    SuperSquash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    I'm interested in this model.

    Can you give your impressions on SD quality, backlight bleed and the viewing angle as well as the other questions?

    Thanks.
  10. 94jdh

    94jdh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +135
    I received my UE55C8000 on Friday afternoon, but didn't manage to start setting up until Saturday morning.

    SD quality depends alot on the recording and age of the source material. I cannot see any bleed on what I have seen so far. HD material is fantastic, AVATAR played through a PS3 was a sight to behold!!

    On a side note, setting up the PS3, it detected the TV as being 3D under the Display settings. It asked me for screen size for optimal viewing, and then under Automatic Settings for saving, on top of the normal 720p and 1080p, it now also shows 720p(3D) & 1080p (3D).

    I heard there was a rumour that the last firmware included an update for 3D games, this is probably good proof, but obviously won't work until games patched/released.
  11. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    I do get this blocky computer like grey/black in dark scenes. As I am a converted plasma user, I've never seen this. This I believe is an LCD/LED issue and not specific to this model.

    How do I get rid? I thought that patchy stuff had long gone on LCDs...
  12. John1987

    John1987 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    Myself and at least one other person have this issue on the c7000, it may be a issue only on lcd's but i have never seen this before on my pervious samsung lcd's!
  13. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    That's a pretty big issue.
  14. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Got my UE55C8000 today and have really only just started playing.

    Freeview SD via standard aerial looks very nice especially considering its such a large set.

    I couldnt get my USB stick to work though. It simply said I should use USB HDD.

    Also, my 360 via PC input showed real signs of ghosting that at this stage I'll put down to the cable.

    Oh, and my stand doesnt rotate left and right?

    Still got a lot to learn with this TV but so far I'm loving it.

    :clap:
  15. John1987

    John1987 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    hi

    i know you have only just got your set but could you please report back if you also find teh above issue


    cheers
  16. SuperSquash

    SuperSquash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2007
    Messages:
    247
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    ...And also if you're seeing judder on BD's and what settings you've used to fix this etc.

    :)
  17. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4

    I'm still playing with the settings and cant settle on anything yet. I've still only watched SD but have so far found little to no dithering. Jaws 3 was on and the dark under water scenes thankfully looked ok with no dithering or blocking.

    I still need to decide on a main setting to really try and hone in on a good set of adjustments. I'm between "standard" and "natural" at the moment although the greying out of certain options depending on main setting is a pain.

    So far, "natural" seems to be a good start for football, whilst "standard" and tweaks helps normal viewing.


    BTW, can someone confirm they managed to record to a USB? I have tried to two devices (2Gb and 8Gb) in both ports and cannot record. Tells me unsuitable device.
    Last edited: May 12, 2010
  18. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4

    Finally, got the record to USB working. You'll need to have a combined read/write speed of 5MB. Works nicely although it appears to only support recording from Freeview?
  19. 94jdh

    94jdh Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2007
    Messages:
    600
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +135
    Its under general settings, lighting gives you various options such as on or off all the time, off when on standby etc..
  20. barryd

    barryd Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,060
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +30
    Hi all:hiya:

    I am very keen to hear what you guys think of your new 55c8000`s as i am torn between this and the ps63c7000! I have an old LG plasma at the moment and not sure weather to change to LED? Any pro`s and con`s would be welcome! cheers!:clap:
  21. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Well I've just converted from Plasma (508XD no less!) and the picture is no where near the quality of the 508XD IMHO.

    That said, I havent really played enough with the settings to understand how I get rid of the all to common LCD blocky greys and blacks.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  22. BarryNK

    BarryNK Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2006
    Messages:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Has anyone found the Sky remote code for the Samsung UE55C7000, I've tried all of the usual ones, which don't work.

    Thanks
  23. andypandy1111

    andypandy1111 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Try 0646. It worked for me.
  24. neilrlsmith

    neilrlsmith Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2007
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +13
    Does anyone have (or has anyone seen) some decent callibration settings for this TV yet?
  25. John1987

    John1987 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2008
    Messages:
    246
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +12
    i haven't seen anything was hoping for some for my c7000 still not 100% happy with mine
  26. filby1

    filby1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    I too like the look of the PS63, im hanging on to see just how good the reviews are for that and the B8000 also.

    As far as setup goes, im not sure you can just do it by fiddling with the buttons buy a Calibration disc its the only way

    "DVE Disc" its the only way
  27. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4
    Yep, although I'd say personal preference should rule the roost more than artifical readings and calibration?! So far every review of the ue55c8000 series seems to suggest turning the sharpness way down often to 0 and then put the set in movie mode. I don't know what viewing conditions these guys are sitting in but I'd bet a heavy wager that 7 out of 10 owners take a look at these "recommended/calibrated" settings and say, "Nope, Washed out and lacking sharpness"?

    :facepalm:
  28. filby1

    filby1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    I run sharpness at -15, this is off to most calibration people, 0 been the mid point and +15 been fully on, if you get a test disc there is loads of numbers and line here there and everywhere and having it set at -15 is the only setting that has them as sharp as they can be.

    If you where to try and make things sharp by turning it to 0/+15 then all you see is the introduction of jaggis you loose shapness, you can even see it on programs too, pause it and try it on BD discs it very clear that shapness as low as it goes make things look very sharp
  29. seiko4169

    seiko4169 Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    45
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +4

    That's really interesting thanks. Is this the same for the Samsung, i.e. sharpness should be set low to increase sharpness?
  30. filby1

    filby1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2007
    Messages:
    537
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Here:

    Play.com (UK) : Digital Video Essentials: HD Basics (HDTV Calibration Tool) (Blu-ray) : Blu-ray - Free Delivery

    These things are well reviewed and really do work, some of the colour test patterns im not sure about, However the disc does fully explain things and the disc really does work. for the £15 asking its well worth it, i spin the disc every now and then, as tv specs change over time with run in and whats not.

    9 out of 10 times the discs works and will change things for the better even if you get a list of setting off the net
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page