Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Resetting a Panasonic SkyBox

Discussion in 'Sky Forum' started by mjn, Sep 8, 2004.

  1. mjn

    mjn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    14,673
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,510
    I've got a Panasonic sky box, that hasn't been used in about 4 years! But the girlfriend has just moved house, and it has a sky dish already fitted and an outlet in the living room.

    Plugged my box in, but after searching for a signal it shuts down. I guess it could need an update or something. I vaguely remember a service code you could enter when the box was in standby that would reset the box, and check for updates.

    Anybody know what it is?
  2. Clint C

    Clint C Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
    I have a Panasonic DSB30, not sure what model you have but the same may apply. Unplug from mains, press and hold "Backup" button on receiver whilst plugging back into mains. Keep your finger on the backup button until you see a notification that the update's taking place which occurs after about 5 - 10 seconds.

    HTH
    Clint.
  3. mjn

    mjn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    14,673
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,510
    thanks for that, i'll pass it on to the g/f and we'll see what happens
  4. mjn

    mjn Active Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2001
    Messages:
    14,673
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,510
    just to let you know...the tip did the trick, new software downloaded, and the sky is working once again.

    thanks for that! :thumbsup: :smashin: :thumbsup: :smashin:
  5. Clint C

    Clint C Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    420
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +4
    Excellent, I'm glad it worked out.

    Clint.

Share This Page