Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Psu help

Discussion in 'Computer Systems' started by preacher666, Feb 13, 2012.

  1. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Hoping to get some advice, I have just upgraded my graphics card to a GeForce gtx 560 1gb I bought off of here.

    Only problem is my 530w hiper psu only has one 12v rail while my graphics card needs two.

    I have used an adapter that come with the card to convert to 4 pin leads into another 6 pin but I has had to disconnect my ide DVD drives.

    I had a look on ebuyer but the other psu's I looked at all seemed to have one 12v rail.

    Could someone recommend a good psu to use?



    My system
    Q8200 core 2 quad CPU at 3.3ghz
    Asus p5q pro
    GeForce gtx 560 1gb ram
    2 x 2gb Kingston hyper x ram
    128gb m4 SSD
    1.5tb Samsung hd
    Creative xfi soundcard
    2 x dvdrw drives
    Card reader



    Link to my psu
    http://item.mobileweb.ebay.co.uk/vi...c4ab84fff44fe2?itemId=230596924045&cmd=VIDESC
    Last edited: Feb 13, 2012
  2. RandomLee

    RandomLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6,826
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,514
  3. LJx

    LJx Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,022
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +369
    Why would it matter how many rails it has?
  4. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Because the graphics card has two 6 pin sockets. Have I got this wrong?

    My last graphics card didnt need any extra power from my psu and is meant to be sli compatible so am I wiring it up wrong?
  5. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks random lee, if it turns Ot I need a new psu will go for an antec.
  6. LJx

    LJx Active Member

    Joined:
    May 29, 2009
    Messages:
    3,022
    Trophy Points:
    106
    Ratings:
    +369
    I think I know what you mean. You need two 6pin connectors for the graphics card but your PSU only has one and you can't use an adaptor for the other one because you havew lots of old HDD's using the connectors. it doesn't matter how many rails the PSU has. As long as it has enough connectors for your needs
  7. RandomLee

    RandomLee Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2006
    Messages:
    6,826
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,514
    Yeah a splitter should do the trick ;)
  8. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    My psu has 6 cables coming out.

    Two go to the mobo
    one 6 pin to the graphics card
    two 4 pin to the adapter then the graphics card
    The last one powers the 2 sata drives, case fan and a dvdrw drive.

    Does that sound ok?
  9. shadowboxer

    shadowboxer Member

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2010
    Messages:
    1,500
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +196
    LJx is correct that it sounds like you need a dual molex to 6-pin PCI-E power adapter. Many motherboards have these in the box or they can be bought for a few £. More concerning to me would be the poor quality of your power supply. Hiper are cheap power supplies and are fairly well known to go out with a "bang" when they do die! A decent 530W PSU would be fine for your current setup but I wouldn't be happy risking it myself. It is nothing to do with rails!

    Something like the OCZ ZS 550W will be good choice for you.

    OCZ ZS Series 550W 80+ Bronze PSU with 135mm Fan & single +12V Rail

    Or

    Be Quiet 530W Pure Power PSU
  10. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Thanks for the help. Think I have been getting rails confused with 6 pin connectors.

    I have the adapter, it's just with it taking two 4 pin (molar?) connectors up to make the 6 pin it only leaves me with one more molar for my hardrives and DVD drives.

    So I should be looking for a psu with plenty of connectors rather than loads of 12v rails?


    Would 550w be suitable if in a year I upgraded to an i5 and added another graphics card?
  11. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    The amount of rails doesn't have any affect at all on performance when it comes to a PSU. The reason why most of them now have one rail is because its more efficient plus it means you dont have to worry about over loading a single rail in a multi rail PSU. The only thing to look out for is whether the PSU has enough Watts and enough AMPS for your setup. Look at the corsair builder series, they are perfect for your needs as they provide plenty of options and have two 6pins connectors, im using a 430w one with a HD4870 and its fine.
  12. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Is it normal then for a graphics card to need two 6 pin connections?

    Think I need a psu with 3!
  13. Sinbadio

    Sinbadio Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2011
    Messages:
    337
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    Yeah that is definitely normal mate, some have two 8 pin connectors lol
  14. preacher666

    preacher666 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    483
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +14
    Makes me wonder how some people have 2 or 3 graphics cards??? There psu must have a stupid amount of connectors!


    So is the 6 pin that plus into my mobo is to power the other pci-e cards?

Share This Page