Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

pixelated picture

Discussion in 'Freeview Forum' started by janer1, Oct 22, 2010.

  1. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    can anyone suggest what may be wrong both tvs now have pixelated picutre, when I view through freeview on the av input button on remote the picture is good but when I select the tv input picture is pixelated and sound distorted and occasional message of no signal. any advice on how to check if problem is related to the arial?
  2. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,759
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,102
    If you get a good freeview picture from an external box and a poor one using the TV tuner start by fiitting a decent quality coax patch lead from the external box to the TV. You can easily check this by plugging the aerial directly into the TV.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  3. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    thanks, have already tried plugging arial directly into tv but still pixelated.
  4. grahamlthompson

    grahamlthompson Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2006
    Messages:
    18,759
    Trophy Points:
    163
    Ratings:
    +3,102
    It must be the TV that's at fault then.
  5. Rodders53

    Rodders53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,486
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +585
    Or the aerial is giving only just enough signal for the more sensitive (RF-wise) set-top box to work and the less sensitive TV is then over the digital cliff.

    A small amplifier (booster) behind the set might help.

    Check all the connections and cables for damage or stray whiskers between the inner conductor and outer braiding. Look at the aerial and its downlead for any signs of damage. Has anything changed nearby (scaffolding erected in front of the aerial; something been moved about in the loft/attic if the aerial is there).
    Check with neighbours if on a communal aerial system.
  6. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi, wonder if anyone can help with a very frustrating issue we have....
    We are able to receive just about all Freeview channels through both our TV built in Freeview (DVB) and through our DVD recorder ( AV input ) which also has built in Freeview. However, problematic channels seem to be all the Sky based channels eg Sky News, Sky 3 etc - whilst viewing through our TV built in Freeview (DVB) these are dropping out frequently with pixilated screen or loss of signal. All these channels are fine however when viewing through our DVD recorder with built in Freeview. Have checked as much as we can and all seems well with the ariel etc. Why should we have problems with one and not the other ? Another odd thing is that things can run fine for quite a while, and then just go pear shaped without any reason ! All our neighbours appear to have no problems.
    The problem isn't stopping us from viewing any channel, because we can get them all ok through the AV input, but the issue we have is that for certain channels we can't record something and watch something else ( which kind of defeats the purpose....). Any ideas / advice ??
  7. lbear

    lbear Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,118
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +336
    The tuners built into TVs tend to be a bit less sensitive than in separate boxes or recorders. Your signal for these particular muxes on the TV may be just on the "digital cliff". The UHF TV signals can be affected by weather conditions - there was a particularly bad situation recently in the hot spell.

    Has your area been through the Digital Switchover yet? The position should improve after when they should turn up the power at the transmitter. You may have the wrong "group" of aerial that is not sensitive to the particular part of the UHF spectrum those muxes are on though this is a less common cause of problems.
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. Rodders53

    Rodders53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,486
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +585
    Try the aerial direct into the TV (not looped through via the recorder) when it next gives a problem to see if it is OK or still an issue.
    Check the recorder's UHF modulator {assuming it has one} isn't clashing with one of the DTT Channels (although it should be OK if an auto-tune from out of the box was done originally).
    Try a different fly-lead between the recorder and TV - especially if the existing one is a cheap, thin one.

    To suggest other possibles we need to know which transmitter you use and what your aerial installation is like.
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  9. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Thanks, we have fitted a plug in signal booster and things are much improved, with only a few channels giving occasional pixilation ( Sky News, Sky 3, basically anything with Sky in it....). Think we can live with this, we are luckier than many who are having similar problems !
  10. shugg11

    shugg11 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2010
    Messages:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Been having the same problem - it's frustrating - thanks for the advice though, hopefully I'll sort it out
  11. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    we have since set up channel booster which has helped but what we are now finding is that when we watch DTV on its own picture is good, but whenever dvd recorder is powered up thats when the pixelation occurs so there seems to be some kindof conflict between the two freeviews, has anyone come across this problem?
  12. Rodders53

    Rodders53 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    3,486
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +585
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2010
  13. Gavtech

    Gavtech Administrator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2005
    Messages:
    18,832
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,240
    janer1 - Please note that posting the same issue in more than one thread [ known as cross-posting] is against the forum rules. Thanks.

    I have merged both your threads here.
  14. janer1

    janer1 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Sorry folks, fairly new to using any kind of forum ( as you can tell....).
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page