Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Pioneer AX2AV "HDMI NG"

Discussion in 'Integrated Amplifiers & Receivers' started by Malky1903, Apr 13, 2008.

  1. Malky1903

    Malky1903 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,909
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Getting a constant flashing on the display saying "HDMI NG". Can still use the amp except HDMI in/out and change settings but the message won't go away. Tried a factory reset but made no difference. A Google search isn't throwing up much. Anyone encountered this and know a fix without having to send it to a service centre?
  2. davepuma

    davepuma Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2004
    Messages:
    16,997
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +3,172
    I don't know what "NG" means on a Pioneer AVR but it usually means NO GOOD on radio gear!
  3. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8,823
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,274
    I believe it indicates a handshaking error. Are you turning on all devices in the correct order? If you're using 1080p, are you using a category 2 HDMI cable? Have you tried a different cable in case yours is broken? Are oyu using the latest firmware?
  4. Malky1903

    Malky1903 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,909
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    What's the correct order? I'm connecting my PC to the amp via HDMI then from amp to PJ. Only using 720p as my PJ doesn't support 1080p. What's Cat 2 HDMI? Don't have another cable long enough to try. Everything worked OK yesterday but not today. I don't have the latest firmware for this particular amp.
  5. Malky1903

    Malky1903 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,909
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +67
    Switched the amp on this morning and it's back to normal for now. Will phone Pioneer to find out what happened and see if it's likely to happen again.
  6. Mark.Yudkin

    Mark.Yudkin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2007
    Messages:
    8,823
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,274
    First power up the TV / projector and wait until it's ready. Then the amp and wait, finally the source. The problem is that HDCP (copy protection) demands that each device validate that all devices "down the chain" are conformant. If you turn on your amp before the TV is ready, it cannot perform the handshake. This is of course extremely annoying.

    There are two categories of HDMI cable, and the cable should be marked - if it isn't, then it's probably category 1. Category 1 cable is only certified for 75MHz which is adequate for 1080i, but not for 1080p. Since you have 720p, it shouldn't be an issue. For further information, see http://www.hdmi.org/learningcenter/faq.aspx.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1

Share This Page