Pico Genie P100 Portable Projector

SimonsPlasma

Established Member
Reaction score
Hi folks,

Does anyone out there own or use the Pico Genie P100? I know it's not a "real" projector, but my needs are:

- ad-hoc presentation at work
- holiday large screen for the kids

I'm a travelling consultant and often find myself needing to present to a room full of people, we usually end up with everyone crowding around my laptop (a 13" macbook). It would be really useful to have something I can carry Pwith me that I just plug in and have a screen on the wall that everyone can look at.

As for holidays, we regularly go away with the kids and end up in places that don't have televisions, or do but they're old TV's with no useful inputs. A portable large screen TV would be great to have.

So -- assuming I need something portable that I can carry everywhere, any real-world thoughts on the P100?

-simon

Well, I have an update for anyone interested. The projector itself is simply superb! Here are my preliminary thoughts:

• It's *tiny* - shorter than my iPhone!
  • It "just works" with any HDMI input. I've tested a Samsung NC10 netbook, a 2010 Macbook, a macbook air, and my iPhone via HDMI adapter, and all have been flawless. It also works extremely well with a Raspberry Pi - which can take power from the on-board USB charger.
  • The image is of reasonable size - about 3 metres away it gave a 70" picture or so (can measure exact numbers if anyone is interested).
  • It has a very bright image for its size, even in a reasonably lit room. For presentations in a meeting, it's going to be just ideal.
  • In a darker room while watching films it's actually pretty decent - obviously not as good as a "real" projector, but frankly a hundred times better than a plain TV.