Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

PC Gaming Upgrade Thread Pt2

Discussion in 'PC Gaming Forum' started by Theydon Bois, Feb 3, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Theydon Bois

    Theydon Bois Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2007
    Messages:
    13,426
    Trophy Points:
    171
    Ratings:
    +4,993
    Continued from Part one, where Kav's rig is due an upgrade.....

    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  2. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,600
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    Kav, that rig is terrible...

    Hasn't Brembo taught you anything?! :laugh:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  3. kav

    kav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2007
    Messages:
    23,103
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +10,422
    This forum is terrible, it gives you an itch that you just have to scratch, leaving you way out of pocket in the process. :rotfl:

    If I didn't bother reading this section, I know I would be more than happy with what I have got for at least another year.
  4. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,600
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    Haha, I know. The 'MMO mouse' thread made me buy a new Logitech G700 (Even though I don't play MMOs) and the 'Get Yer Rigs Oot' thread made me buy Corsair 600TM and a secondary (IPS) monitor! :laugh:

    And I bought a Xonar DX a while back too, due to someone mentioning how awesome it was!

    Oh the joys!

    I am supremely happy with my rig now though... It works amazingly, even though I am on the Catalyst 11.9 drivers. I have no idea why the new Catalyst 12.x drivers ruin my entire rig, but they do!

    They just cause page faults (memory leaks), everywhere. Skyrim ramped up 4 million page faults in the first few minutes.

    That was double the amount that my USB driver caused in over 2 hours - And I have a USB HDD, USB mouse + keyboard & a USB wifi dongle... :rolleyes:

    The new ATI drivers really suck on my rig! I'm just worried about performance on 'new' games with those (slightly) older drivers.
  5. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    Had an e-mail from Scan to say my RMA has been rejected:mad::confused:
    Going to ring them now to find out why
  6. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    They've said there are bent pins on the cpu socket:mad:
    I'm astounded, there's only one way it will fit with the socket & latch. I'm certain I never caused that damage.
    I've just thought - the box/ anti-static bag weren't sealed when I received the, should this've been the case. I thought nothing of it at the time.
  7. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    bent pins:( that's an awful felling, did you check the Mb before you sent it off? you no my first Ud7 did not have the sticky tape holding the plastic lid for the Mb when i swapped to the second it was sealed , you should mention this, i did when swapping.
  8. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    No, I just didn't expect it to be that, I assumed it was the pci-e slot.
    Gutted and £80 out of pocket:(

    Edit - they agree that the static bag should've been sealed, but that I should've noticed the damage and informed them. So it's my fault basically.
  9. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,600
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    So it was damaged on arrival?

    Has this damage been within 28-days of arrival, or something along those lines? Or have you had that mobo for a while?

    EDIT:
    I'm sure some pins on my old mobo were slightly dodgy, but it still worked - Somehow. I'm amazed that computers work at all, considering how many independent and random parts are in them!
  10. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    I received it last Thursday/Friday, so a week.
    They claim the warranty with them & Asus is void & I should've picked it up myself, or that I've caused the damage.
    The conversation didn't go any further as I had to put the phone down before I said something I shouldn't.
  11. Kirki

    Kirki Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    875
    Trophy Points:
    46
    Ratings:
    +146
    Oh man, that's terrible. :( Did you check the pins on the 2500k? Surely if the mobo pins got damaged then so should the CPU you have - if your CPU is fine then maybe argue with them that the damage was already on the mobo. Worth a try.

    EDIT: Saying this ^ as on mine pins are on CPU and without having an 1155.
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  12. bouncer

    bouncer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +140
    Wondered if any of you wonderful chaps upgraded from a socket 939 recently be any chance?

    Or any one happen to have on? Classifieds have let me down!
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  13. TheNameIsJambo

    TheNameIsJambo Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2011
    Messages:
    5,600
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +1,476
    :mad: Those bastards. Bending those pins takes a good bit of effort and you'd have to completely hammer the processor in wrong - Which is nigh impossible these days.

    They must of thought you were trying put the CPU in with a bloody hammer.

    Raise an RMA for bent pins too? :rolleyes:
  14. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    i doubt there is anyone here on 939 mate, not been on that platform myself for 5 yrs , why?

    it is easy to crush the pins if something falls under the chip as you fit it and just as you close the retention arm.
  15. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    Yeah, cpu looks fine to me. I will maybe try that tomorrow when I've calmed down a bit, but I can't see them changing their position
  16. bouncer

    bouncer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +140
    I myself am stuck on a P4 soclet 478 :rolleyes: My 939 board blew a few years ago, and now I actually want to use the PC for more the browsing the net, Was hoping to upgrade to my dual core again. Sadly im a poor gamer who is totally strapped for cash jst now!
  17. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    @Jambo too late for that I'd think.
    There was nothing in the vicinity to fall into the socket - I did it on the dining room table.
    I've checked the pins against this http://www.hardware-revolution.com/...1/04/intel-core-i5-2500_underside_article.jpg

    and the layout is identical (I'm assuming they mean the central "island" of pins), can't see any damage at all. If something had fell into the socket I'd assume the chip pins would be bent too?
  18. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    24,928
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,640
    What can we convince you to get then? ;)

    Intel chips just have contacts, no actual pins. The pins are on the board and should be pretty hard to damage.
  19. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    Just found something on the sale of goods act which indicates they must prove it wasn't faulty when sent to me.
    Looks like the way to go.

    Edit - namely:
    Sale of Goods Act 1979,Part 5 ADDITIONAL RIGHTS OF BUYER IN CONSUMER CASES::
    "For the purposes of subsection (1)(b) above goods which do not conform to the contract of sale at any time within the period of six months starting with the date on which the goods were delivered to the buyer must be taken not to have so conformed at that date."
    Further:
    "(3)For the purposes of subsection (1)(b) above goods which do not conform to the contract of sale at any time within the period of six months starting with the date on which the goods were delivered to the buyer must be taken not to have so conformed at that date."
    And:
    "(1)If section 48A above applies, the buyer may require the seller—
    (a)to repair the goods, or
    (b)to replace the goods.

    (2)If the buyer requires the seller to repair or replace the goods, the seller must—

    (a)repair or, as the case may be, replace the goods within a reasonable time but without causing significant inconvenience to the buyer;
    (b)bear any necessary costs incurred in doing so (including in particular the cost of any labour, materials or postage)."

    Seems to cover it?
    Last edited: Feb 3, 2012
  20. boltlock

    boltlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,872
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,084
    It's a shame that its the motherboard that you need as I have an FX53 knocking about in one of my drawers.
  21. boltlock

    boltlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,872
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,084
    That's outrageous mate, couldn't you claim on your card insurance?
  22. bouncer

    bouncer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +140
    Got a 4200? I think, still better than what im using.

    And to make it more annoying I need a mATX board!
  23. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    Afraid not, paid by debit card - was going to use my cc as well:rolleyes:

    I'll e-mail them tomorrow with the SoG stuff above & contact trading Standards.

    Very disappointed & last time I use Scan.:rolleyes:
  24. boltlock

    boltlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,872
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,084
    Yeah I think you may struggle on here tbh. Have you tried ebay?
  25. boltlock

    boltlock Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2006
    Messages:
    4,872
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,084
    That's a shame really BT as Scan have always been good for me. Hopefully you'll get it sorted with the right result.
  26. bigtruck

    bigtruck Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    4,706
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +989
    I've bought a few things through Scan - about £700+ in the last 8 months or so - and I've always found the service to be good, particularly the delivery with 1 hour time slots. This is my first RMA however and it tarnishes my opinion somewhat. They must be fully aware of the SoG, so why go to the effort of trying to avoid it?

    Anyway, dying loads on BF3 tonight is certain to improve my mood. I'm off to open a bottle of red :)
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  27. Sniper Ash6

    Sniper Ash6 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    24,928
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +5,640
    I've just checked some old computers sat up on the office but they're Socket 462, sorry :(
  28. bouncer

    bouncer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +140
    Yea not to happy with the price, Slim pickings also.

    Got one of those here somewhere myself
  29. namuk

    namuk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    21,589
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +4,010
    pitty as i have an AN32 SLI that i got from asus under Rma ages ago but never tested it, that Fx chip that boltock offered is an unlocked multiplier Cpu of it's time and better than the 4200, i use to use a FX60 with that AN32,

    also mATX
    Asrock Socket 939 939A790GMH AMD 790GX Micro ATX M-ATX Motherboard | eBay
  30. bouncer

    bouncer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2005
    Messages:
    3,158
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +140
    Yea I really don't want to stick that much into a machine that will probally get used for 6-12 months before I actually do aproper upgrade!
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page