Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Payment on Account HMRC

Discussion in 'General Chat Forum' started by Paul_HDLover, Jan 2, 2012.

1. Paul_HDLover

Paul_HDLover Member

Ratings:
    +129
    Hi everyone - and happy new year. :smashin:Shame on me for posting a thread about tax and self assessment on 1 January :devil:

I'm a Self Employed IT Contractor and this year my accountant has hit me with a major financial blow, in the form of an HMRC 'payment on account'.

Essentially, this month, I am due to pay the personal tax from year 10-11, which includes tax due on 2nd property rental and also dividends from my company.

Now the above is a reasonable amount of cash, which due to its 'personal' nature is due from my own 'personal' bank account. I had made the necessary provision for this sum.

Now the accountant is telling me that I must pay for the current year personal tax dues before they have actually arrived in my pocket. They are saying that the personal tax 'projected' for the year ahead needs to be paid in 2 installments. The first in January (Along with the tax I know I have to pay) and the second instalment in July.

To put this in perspective with a made up example:

Rental profits made for year 10/11 - £2000
    Dividend paid - £30000

Assume (for arguments sake) all of the above is taxed at 22%, makes the amount payable to HMRC in January 2012 £7040.

What I am also being asked to pay this month is 50% of the project amount of personal tax that will be due for tax year 11/12, so using the above example, an extra £3520 in January and an extra £3520 in July.

Reading the HMRC website:....

SALF303 - Payment of tax: payments on account