Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Panasonic VT50 image retention problem, subtitles?

Discussion in 'Plasma TVs' started by lixux, Feb 10, 2013.

1. lixux

lixux Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Hello everybody,

Although I read this forum occasionally this is my first time posting about a problem that I have. Last October I've bought a VT50 and I was very happy with it's picture but from last December I started seeing two lines at the bottom of the screen, usually where the subtitles are displayed. I swear that I've not left any static images.

Can subtitles leave straight line image retention? I mean the subtitles only show for 2 seconds and are continuously changing. So for a whole month I saw the television without the subtitles but still the lines remained at the bottom of the screen. Is it a defective panel? What should I do?

The two lines usually are seen when the bottom of the picture is made up of one colour. When I view movies with bars it's not a problem but it's very irritating when watching full screen movies.

Thanks for helping me and sorry for not my perfect English.

Attached Files:

2. DaMacFunkin

DaMacFunkin Member

Ratings:
    +20
    I'd definatley say that is from subtitles, there will be an overlay all along that section when displaying subs, yesterday i had to leave my TV on the scrolling white bar, i got mine in November and i have just suddenly started seeing the Virgin Media V+ Dog (The graphic that comes on screen when you play a recording or fast forward a recording) on certain backgrounds, which i'm not happy about because we only use the V+ for corrie and emmerdale. Whilst running the white bar i noticed The Sky Sports Logo in the top right hand corner as well, i swear the longer i have this set the more quirky it is getting, not better.
  3. tirebiter

tirebiter Member

Ratings:
    +0