Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Optoma HD20/200X reviews settings and owners thread - Part 2

Discussion in 'Projectors' started by Andrew Dade, Jan 31, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,387
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    It is not necessary but some people like to pay extra knowing it can go back anytime in the 3 years with as little fuss as possible. Someone should also be able to do it even a 1 year warranty as the PJ hasn't lasted a reasonable amount of time. However, the manufacturers may make the process more complicated/stressful.

    I had no problems with two HD700's but have seen two PJ's being sent back recently. A HD800 had to be sent back after 7 months and had done 300 hours with no problems. It is now back fixed.

    Even my HD200 has problems (see the other thread about horizontal lines with negative keystone) but they are managable and still affects the HD20.

    There is a big difference over the HD65/HD700 and the HD20/HD200.
  2. Timm

    Timm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Another thought. I watch a bit of tv through a freeview digi-box with hdmi and upscaling. Will the picture look the same as an HD65, or by upscaling to 1080 will it look crisper? I am waiting for Freeview HD in our area.
    Also with a 15m prosignal cable I presume I would need a booster? I don't want to change it as it is under carpet, Walls, floorboards, joists, etc
  3. Richnoob

    Richnoob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Iv had mine now for 4/5 months and have clocked up 546 hours!!

    Im soon to be finishing off my spare room which is gonna be my xbox room which i will be using a 40' HD LCD, so that will save alot of hours! lol

    Im looking at remounting my projector on the ceiling soon as its on table top at the mo, set up is great but iv had enough of people knocking the projector and messing up the viewing angle!

    So anyways i cant mount it back up on the ceiling unless i change my screen as the throw is too far and it currently produces too big an image so i need to get a bigger screen, while im at it im gonna get an electric one.

    Here's the size of the one i currently have -
    Panoview Manual Pull Down - 203cm x 114.5cm (16:9) DS-9092PMG+

    What size screen would be best suited from a throw distance of 15FT?

    Cheers lads

    P.S. Would i be able to part EX my 4 month old screen with anyone or any company? Or sell it even?
  4. Richnoob

    Richnoob Member

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2009
    Messages:
    146
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +1
    Dont really understand this guys, wonder if you can help.

    Iv judt gone to the service menu by pressing power off left left up, and it tells you lamp hours details,

    mine says-
    Lamp hour 547
    Bright lamp hours 111
    Standard lamp hours 435
    Normal use 203
    Abnormal use 2

    What the hell is 'normal' use and 'abnormal' use?
  5. Timm

    Timm Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2001
    Messages:
    170
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +3
    Just seen an HD20 in use. Good on HD material but not as good as my 65 on SD dvd. Anyone else noticed this?
  6. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,910
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,926
    I can only compare my HD20 with sd material with my previous 720p projectors handling of sd material.

    I would say the hd20 does a much better job than my previous Planar PD7010.The shadow detail and colours are much better with the HD20.

    I thought that my PD7010 was as good as an HD65 therefore from that I would have thought that the HD20 was better than the HD65.
  7. pyschometal

    pyschometal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi Guy's,

    I have just bought a HD200X, alll set-up and running and I am totally blown away by the quality. One issue that I am having is that the menu of my blu-ray player displays like this....
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    Everything else seems fine, just this menu screen is displaying covered in white noise.

    Blu-ray player is a Sony BDPS350 connected by HDMI and I have tried the cable on other devices and it seems to work fine.

    Any Ideas?

    Thanks.
  8. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,387
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Try changing to 720p anyway. If it looks ok then the cable might not be able to handle 1080p60.

    Other things you can try is to look at the video settings and set the video output from auto to Ycbcr or RGB 0-255. There is a also a colour space setting on the PJ. It is set to auto but that also changes from Ycbcr and RGB too.

    @Timm

    I found the HD20/HD200 is just as good with SD as the HD65/HD700. I actually prefered to upscale by the HD700 rather than the S350. With the HD200 I use the S350 for upscaling.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  9. lapino

    lapino Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +29
    I just noticed a small hair at the top of my screen (HD20 ceiling mounted). Any tips on how I can remove this? It seems to be inside the lens/lamp.
  10. johnboy35

    johnboy35 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2004
    Messages:
    746
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +22
    I think its a sealed unit inside so get on to optoma as its a warranty repair.
  11. rdoddy

    rdoddy Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2009
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +1
    has anyone got their HD200X hooked up to an sony str dh800? thinking of getting this for my set up..
  12. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,387
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    It is a good amp. It doesn't matter what one you use. The amp hdmi output just goes to the PJ.
    Last edited: Feb 14, 2010
  13. pyschometal

    pyschometal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Thanks nwgarratt,

    There is a fault with the cable. The new cable worked perfectly.
  14. andyman2

    andyman2 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    308
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Ratings:
    +36
    Well I have to agree with this comment, I think the HD20 is OK with SD and brilliant with HD. But I think this is a bit of a general problem associated with upscaling SD stuff to a large projector screen. I find that a well transferred DVD actually looks pretty good, but some of the poorer transfers look somewhat shabby. I move a little further back or reduce the image size a little. Less than perfect, but I've got used to it.
  15. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,387
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    It is down to the DVD itself and how well it it is encoded with a suffficient bitrate. It is hit and miss. Projecting bigger, will make things like edge enhancement more visible.

    Build quality can vary with cables. It is worth spending a little more but don't spend too much. The HDMI sockets on the PJ are not as good as they could be. I had to find a cable that secured the cable connector without feeling loose.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  16. turbo911

    turbo911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    hi there guys i have had my hd 20 since xmas and all worked faultless, i have just purchased a arcam avr500 av amp new with latest firmware installed, i bought this amp to replace my denon 2310 which was superb with no probs whatsoever, i can now not get bluray disks to play!! they play for a few seconds then the screen is covered in millions of multi coloured dots and keeps cycling through over and over i have spoken to arcam and they say this is very common with hd20 and i require a firmware mupdate on the hd 20??? any one heard of this or anyone done there own firmware update on there hd 20 read through some threads on avs forum and it looks like they have to be sent back to optoma any ideas:confused::confused::confused:
  17. pyschometal

    pyschometal Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2005
    Messages:
    76
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +5
    Hi turbo911,

    Try connecting the projector straight to your blu-ray/ dvd player and see if you still have the problem. Also try a different cable as that was my issue.

    Thanks.
  18. nwgarratt

    nwgarratt Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2002
    Messages:
    23,387
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,261
    Sounds like HDMI handshake issues which have been known with this PJ. I would try better quality cables. How long are they? A repeater can help to amplify the signal.
  19. turbo911

    turbo911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    hi thanks i have just swaped the amp hdmi output 1&2 (swapped the tv with the pj) and all is working fine i will play around and post back !!!just got the impression arcam were trying to pass the buck mmmm not bad having just parted with £2.5k!!!!!!!!!!
  20. shiryu

    shiryu Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2006
    Messages:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    hi,
    do hd200x and hd20 share the same lamp?
    thank you
  21. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,910
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,926
    Yes and they are about £132.:thumbsup:
  22. turbo911

    turbo911 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2008
    Messages:
    277
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +20
    all hdmi cables are chord the run to the pj is 8m and 4m to the tv all others are 1m, i thought handshake probs but i have one bray disk that allways plays ie, the system starts playing up and pop this disk in and plays fine put the previous disk back in and plays up again does this resemble hand shake probs?????
  23. superdon

    superdon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +50
    Can anyone tell me the difference between the HD20 and HD200x in real terms and why one would be more suitable than the other?

    Also. At approx 10ft projector/screen distance. What level of +/- is available on the zoom? Just trying to figure out which screen to look at buying.
  24. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,910
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,926
    The only difference is the HD20 is white and comes with a 3 yr warranty.The 200x is black with 1 yr warranty.

    I have seen specs in some reviews that state the 20 has a higher brightness and contrast but have not seen any evidence to substantiate this.

    As to screen/zoom I have answered in the other thread,but 10ft will get you from 77"-91" image.Dont forget the 10ft dimension is from the front of the lens to the face of the screen.
  25. marfa

    marfa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi everyone and thanks to all and to the specialists as kbfern,
    I am absolutelly new in this matter, so, sorry for my ignorance about. I have read all the posts in this thread and also the one in the USA forum (AVS). I took a lot of notes and, finally, I bought it...This afternoon I will ended the installation with the screen and the ceiling mounting. I have a simple question: is it necessary to calibrate at the initial projetions or it is much better wait for the first 37 usage hours? In case you think I have to calibrate it, please, let me know which one.

    Thanks in advance for your help and for this amazing forum.
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2010
  26. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,910
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,926
    Hi Marfa

    Congratulations on buying the HD20 you will not be disappointed:thumbsup:.You have obviously read extensively all the posts and as you have mentioned 37hrs you must have read about Custards settings(see thread link below post 2).

    http://www.avforums.com/forums/proj...hd20-200x-reviews-settings-owners-thread.html

    The out of the box settings are generally pretty good and if they look good to your eyes leave them till 20hrs or so and then recalibrate to the 37hr settings.

    If you are not happy from the get go use the 37hr settings immediately. There are no hard and fast rules as every ones rooms are different but custards settings seem to hit the spot for me and a few others.:thumbsup:

    Just get it up quick and start enjoying:D
  27. superdon

    superdon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +50
    Thanks again.

    I see you are in Wolverhampton. I am in Kiddy, any idea where has these available to demo locally at all?

    Also interested in noise from the HD20. It will be ceiling mounted, above our heads but as the ceiling is quite low its probably only going to be 3 feet above.
  28. marfa

    marfa Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Ratings:
    +1
    kbfern, you are really a :lesson:. Thanks for your help and quick respond. I will let you know how it works. Again, :clap::clap::smashin:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  29. kbfern

    kbfern Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2002
    Messages:
    13,910
    Trophy Points:
    166
    Ratings:
    +2,926
    Hi Superdon

    No one around Kiddy I know of,I got mine from Creative Audio in Shrewsbury but if you want to come over to Wolves to see my setup you are welcome.I work from home so day or evenings are Ok LMK.

    As far as noise is concerned I find the HD20 fairly quiet and I am no more than 3ft from mine either.

    Cheers

    Keith
  30. superdon

    superdon Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    1,466
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Ratings:
    +50
    Keith - I might just take you up on that offer, thank you. Where abouts are you in Wolves? What size screen do you have?
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page