Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Onkyo TX-SR606 remote control codes

Discussion in 'Integrated Amplifiers & Receivers' started by Rolling Sly, May 12, 2008.

  1. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Anyone know where to get them from?

    Obviously there is a remote control codes booklet but for some reason the Sky+ code doesn't work fully with my Sky+ box (coloured buttons don't work) neither do the Samsung TV codes work fully with my new Samsung LE46A656 46" LCD TV.

    Any help appreciated :)
  2. devbias

    devbias Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    Not even a codes booket in mine so a link or file would help
  3. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    That sucks! Tell me what equipment you want codes for and I'll post some codes for you to play with :D

    Would be nice if Onkyo had codes up on their site or something... Oh, wait! That would be far too sensible now wouldn't it! :thumbsdow

    Can anyone help us???
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  4. h4rtey

    h4rtey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Have u tried all the codes...obvious i no but has been known!
  5. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Yeah I've tried every code... well every code for the specific piece of equipment and brand, ie. Samsung TV (for my Samsung LE46A656) and Sky+ (for my Sky+ surprisingly enough) :D

    I wasn't too surprised that the TV didn't work properly as it is a brand new model but as for the Sky+, well I think it's SHOCKING that it doesn't work properly (none of the buttons act as coloured buttons as they should). Maybe it could be because I have an old Sky+ box? Typical, TV's too new and Sky'y too old! :(

    GIVE US AN UPDATED BLOODY LIST, ONKYO!!! ON THE HURRY UP!!!
  6. h4rtey

    h4rtey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2008
    Messages:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +2
    Sorry for asking a stupid question but it has been known. Bet u had finger ache after pressing all those codes!
  7. devbias

    devbias Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  8. fasterfords

    fasterfords Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    I got my SKY HD box working pretty quickly, all except the coloured button, which it doesn't have and I can't seem to find.

    This makes it almost pointless.
  9. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Doesn't seem to have the right codes for the 606?
    Same as. It's supposed to work the coloured buttons too but simply doesn't. Rubbish!

    It 'almost' works my TV too. All except the left arrow so navigating the menus is impossible. Again, pointless!
  10. devbias

    devbias Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2004
    Messages:
    283
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +15

    The code listed for the TSXR-506 are the codes for the new 606 & 576
    They worked perfect for my samsung sat box/panny tv/Humax PVR9200T/Poineer dvdr. Only thing is that there is no record button on Onkyo remote.
  11. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    I have a Sky HD box and have just setup the remote to control everything. Having the same problem with the coloured buttons not working, which as previously stated kind of makes it pointless.

    Other than that, controls my TV and Panny BD30 perfectly.
  12. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Oh yeah, so they are. Unfortunately they are the exact same codes I got with my 606 and do not seem to have any 'updated' codes. Onkyo really need to sort this out. The remote is useless without controlling coloured buttons for Sky+
  13. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    Just to let you know, I have sent Onkyo an email asking if there is a solution or whether they can sort it in the future.
    Not holding my breath for a response though
  14. Jessejames690

    Jessejames690 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    70
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +3
    Is there a code for a V+ Box??? Got my EP35 & standard Tosh DVD player up and running but I want to control the Virgin Box also. Any ideas??
  15. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    According to google, the manufacturer of the V+ box is Scientific Atlanta. In the supplied remote codes from Onkyo, there are two codes under cable/pvr combination, 00877 + 01877.

    If these fail, try 00000, 00008, 00237, 00277.

    Let us know if these work. Cheers.
  16. james.miller

    james.miller Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2002
    Messages:
    2,616
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +157
    is the 606 remote not a learning remote then?
  17. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No unfortunately not, has lots of pre-programmed codes built in. Its actually a very nice functional remote just cant do the 4 coloured buttons of sky which is annoying, despite the manual saying that it does.

    Here is the response i got from Onkyo customer support:

    'Thank you very much for your message and your interest in ONKYO products.
    You have reached the support/help desk for ONKYO Europe.
    The remote control of the receiver TX-SR 606 is pre programmed.
    That means the commands for the different devices are stored in the remote
    control.
    To activate this stored controls you have to give in a specific code
    number.
    Unfortunately it's not possible to expand or to learn new commands into
    the memory of the remote control.
    Therefore we can not give an new code.'
  18. Rolling Sly

    Rolling Sly Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2008
    Messages:
    154
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +11
    Excellent! So we're never going to be able to control our Sky+ with it then, nor my Samsung LE46A656 TV. Looks like I'm going to have to live with my table covered in remotes then :thumbsdow Boo
  19. SMIVS

    SMIVS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    hey disturber what code did u use for ure panny bd30 br player as i cant get any codes to work from the link above any help would be appreciated,i have got the codes for my sony hhd\dvd recorder and some functions for my sharp aquos tv but cant get panny code

    cheers
  20. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    SMIVS - the code for the bd30 and all Panasonic blu-ray players is 32903.

    Works well, but here's a quick tip. There is no direct 'pop up menu' button, instead, if you press the prev ch/menu button you will have the option of top menu, pop up menu and tv aspect, you then use the directional pad to select what you want.
    • Thanks Thanks x 2
  21. SMIVS

    SMIVS Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2008
    Messages:
    378
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    thx for ure help disturber worked a treat,ure a gentleman and a scholar.:thumbsup:
  22. Disturber

    Disturber Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    237
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +15
    No problem mate, anything to help you lose one more remote!
  23. crouton

    crouton Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2002
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Such as shame about the Onkyo remote not having a record button or the coloured buttons! I'd swap it in a second for my trusty Harmony IMO if it had them as it's more intuitive to use and much more responsive. You don't really need the Activities if you're connected up via HDMI, you just press the button you want. I also miss being able to rename the inputs like I did on my old Sherwood.
  24. onkeh

    onkeh Active Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,423
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +425
    Seconding my annoyance at the lack of coloured Sky+ buttons, would literally be able to use everything on my Onkyo (DVD, Sky, TV) if it wasn't for that. They've got the 4 audio preset buttons at the bottom that are completely unused too! Seems like madness why they didn't use them.
  25. alchemistkevin

    alchemistkevin Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2007
    Messages:
    3,599
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +133
    What can you not control on your Samsung LE46A656 ?
  26. PtolemyIV

    PtolemyIV Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2007
    Messages:
    38
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +6
    What did you find worked best for the V+ box? Presume you dont have colour buttons etc

    Anyone set-it up to control a Topfield TF5800 (there is a topfield code but v.few buttons to match all the toppy's features such as archive / no volume up) - keen to hear if anyone has had better success.

    Similarly anything that can be done to control xbox + xbox 360?

    Don't see why didnt just include learning capability as well (plus a few additional random buttons to ease the mapping)

    i'm up to 7 remotes now :(
  27. wieme

    wieme Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Does anyone know the Onkyo 606 remote code for my set-top-box?
    It's a Samsung DCB-H360R (dvb-c).
    I tried all the Samsung-codes in de manual, but none of them are working.


    Thanks,
    Wim
  28. Adrianr

    Adrianr Member

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2003
    Messages:
    57
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
    Are there codes available for the Harmony 895?
  29. wieme

    wieme Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Anyone?
  30. Phaedrus68

    Phaedrus68 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2008
    Messages:
    328
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +12
    Hi,

    I've posted a query on Harmony remotes elsewhere (thanks to davepuma & co for the great replies), but it occurred to me that the Onkyo 606 remote might be able to control all the items I'm thinking of choosing.

    I had a look at the 606 pdf manual and starting on page 87, there's a section on "controlling other components" with the 606 remote.

    The link to the codes pdf early in this thread does list Panasonic TV and Panasonic Blu-Ray DVD codes, which covers two of my current choices.

    But it doesn't list the XBox 360 or my current (new) Freesat receiver (the immensely celubrius SilverCrest SL65 from that prestige purveyor of quality AV components, Lidl...).

    Does this mean that the 606 remote can control the Pan TV & BR player, but can't control an XBox 360 and this Freesat receiver?

    Can any remote truly control all components in an average/typical brand-name AV system?


    Thanks,

    Mark

Share This Page