1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Nest v2 - Easily compatible with UK systems

Discussion in 'Home Appliances' started by redface, Oct 17, 2012.

  1. redface

    redface Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2003
    Messages:
    67
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Ratings:
    +0
  2. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    I've also been looking at the nest thermostats but they're not fully compatible yet in the uk, one of the problems is the thermostat asks for a USA / Canada zip code and doesn't have an option for uk post codes,so it can't show the uk time zone and uk weather which make it awkward for setting the times for your heating to come on and off
  3. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    I've tried phoning nest support and asked if they could do a firmware update for the uk postcodes,but unfortunately the nest thermostat was brighter than the guy on the phone.
  4. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    these thermostats still are not opentherm, they are typical on/off stats but with a learning ability. still not the most efficient way to control your heating...

    The Americans don't tend to be too energy saving.

    Welcome at the homepage of OpenTherm
  5. neilball

    neilball Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,666
    Trophy Points:
    83
    Ratings:
    +296
    Not that Opentherm is widely publicised or understood either - even if you go to the web page you link to and click on products you then go to a page where they have no products of any type listed! It's another example of an open protocol in e building services industry that should offer real benefits but gets left by the roadside by poor implementation or marketing.

    Another problem with Nest is that the onboard relays are only 24v, so you then need to wire to additional relays I between the thermostat and heating equipment.

    And with the potential low volumes and high costs to modify the unit for European use (compared to their target market in the US) I doubt there will be any attempt to modify the unit for use outside the US for in the short term (or maybe ever).
  6. avcar

    avcar Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2004
    Messages:
    260
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +10
    are there any good alternatives available here for uk?
  7. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    You could try heatmiser,they do a wifi version which I'm going to give a try.
  8. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    Heatmiser are ok, fitted the wifi model for a customer to control with his iPhone which he liked. I found the screen to be very poor quality, it has to viewed absolutely straight on...
  9. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Can you recommend any other wifi thermostats for the uk.
  10. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
  11. E-com

    E-com Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2006
    Messages:
    1,888
    Trophy Points:
    66
    Ratings:
    +152
    can these systems be removed, or is it a case of when its in, its in?
  12. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    It's a bona-fide fixed install, you can remove but will need to replace with something else or your system is not going to work.
  13. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
  14. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    January...
  15. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Thanks for letting me know Sweetstyle,but unfortunately I'm getting my boiler fitted on the 12th November, so it looks like its the wifi heatmiser for me.
  16. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    What boiler are you having installed?
  17. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Im having a Worcester Bosch 42cdi installed, I was hoping to get a nest thermostat but unfortunately I don't think we'll be getting them in the uk for a long time, if at all.
  18. sweetstyle

    sweetstyle Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +2
    That's a fair boiler...
  19. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    That's good to hear as I'm no boiler expert lol
  20. onelife2000

    onelife2000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    I have the same and have the brush gas smartphone wifi thermostat and iphone app etc all works great.
  21. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Is that a British gas wifi thermostat, can you use it out doors.I bought a heatmiser wifi thermostat which works great indoors but I need a fixed IP address for it to work out doors,it's doing my nut in trying to get it sorted.
  22. onelife2000

    onelife2000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    It's a wireless thermostat, a unit that connects to the boiler and a hub that plugs into your wireless router. It operates via 3G - wifi wherever you are in the world.

    There is a browser interface too for 7 day setup etc. you can access it via SMS and I think there is a 3G sim in the hub if your broadband is down.

    It's part of this system. The security stuff looks good too. Not sure if BG is live yet on that.

    https://www.alertme.com/how-we-do-it/products-and-services

    Don't think you need to have British gas as your provider?
  23. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Looks very nice and similar to what I have,except I don't have the extra hub.I can use mine also outside using 3G but I haven't cracked that part of it yet .
  24. DannagE

    DannagE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +6
    Did you get this sorted yet?

    It should be simple enough if you goto dyndns and get a free hostname. Then their service can change your ip address into an address, something like "http://dave.dyndns.com"

    Then on your router you would have to forward the port that you need to geto onto the thermostats webpage and forward it to the static internal address of your thermostat.

    When you're outside on 3G you can use your phone to connect to "http://dave.dyndns.com:12345" for example. This also works internally on my homes wifi too, so I permanently use this address on my apps.

    Im pretty sure I've made no sense, so if you get stuck I'll see if I can help.

    Dan
  25. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Hi Dan thanks for your help its much appreciated but I managed to get it sorted by using no-ip and it works a treat.I'm sitting at the pool in Lanzarote
    at this very minute and I can check on the mother who's watching the house to see if she's burning my gas lol .
  26. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    Hi Dan thanks for your help its much appreciated but I've managed to get it sorted using no ip and it works a treat.I'm currently sitting at the pool in Lanzarote and I can check on mother at home who's watching the house to see if she's burning my gas lol.
  27. DannagE

    DannagE Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    85
    Trophy Points:
    11
    Ratings:
    +6
    Good stuff. And lucky for some! Its freezing here at the moment and the snow is all around :(

    I'm still waiting for the Salus IT500 to come out to replace my current Salus thermostat. Should be a straight swap, hence me holding out.

    Anyway, enjoy your time in the sun :cool:
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
  28. crazypete00

    crazypete00 Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2009
    Messages:
    284
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +17
    if anyone in this thread is still looking at teh nest thermostats, a user on here called S D I has managed to get them working in the UK. also from what ive heard they will be releasing a UK version in the future
  29. onelife2000

    onelife2000 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    166
    Trophy Points:
    21
    Ratings:
    +5
    Oh this is 3g too... it sends the information via:

    App > BG myhome website > Hub in house via internet > Themostat.

    If your internet is down the Hub uses it's built in 3G connection so you can still connect.
  30. gee123

    gee123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2010
    Messages:
    674
    Trophy Points:
    31
    Ratings:
    +92
    I've got it up and running now and it works a treat when I'm out.

Share This Page