Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Media monkey will not work with V3 firmware

Discussion in 'iPhone' started by wease, Jun 26, 2009.

  1. wease

    wease Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2007
    Messages:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Ratings:
    +1
    Hi Folks,

    I have an Iphone and like many people have recently upgraded to V3.

    Trouble is.....I've been using media monkey to transfer music because my main Itunes account is on my macbook (for email, contacts, etc). When I try to transfer music now, media monkey reports that the iphone firmware is incompatible with media monkey:thumbsdow

    Searching around the web, I noticed that this also happened with V2. Will it get fixed quickly by the media monkey team, or am I stuck!!!!

    I also tried hacking the xml file from my mac book, which has been seen on the net but that didn't work either.

    When I try to manage music manually on the pc with music on it. Itunes says it will erase and sync. Would that be my music only or would I also lose contacts and mail.

    Any help would be gratefully recieved.

    Thanks.
  2. Zarch

    Zarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,322
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +854
    Its a known issue with MM and OS3.0

    Apple have implemented new encryption on the iTunes database on the phones, so 3rd party apps like MM can't sync.

    I'm in the same boat.

    Basically, someone at MM is going to have to reverse engineer the encryption.

    Best bet is to keep upto date in the MM forum: MediaMonkey • View forum - Need Help with Device Synchronization?

    Plus theres links to various sites explaining what Apple have been upto.
    • Thanks Thanks x 1
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2009
  3. tigermad

    tigermad Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,977
    Trophy Points:
    86
    Ratings:
    +135
    Is there an alternative program that may work for now? I just upraded to 3.0 and didnt realise MM doesnt work. I have my music in flac and MM was great at converting it and addind it straight to the iphone. I guess I will have to be patient and see if they find a fix.
  4. Zarch

    Zarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,322
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +854
    There is a semi-fix available, read more on the MediaMonkey forum:
    MediaMonkey • View topic - iphone 3g OS 3.0 (developer preview OS)

    Alternativley, sign the petition against Apple restricting 3rd party software access:
    Enable Iphone 3.0 compatibility for MediaMonkey and other 3rd party software Petition
  5. Noggin1980

    Noggin1980 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    6,848
    Trophy Points:
    133
    Ratings:
    +1,148
    I can't understand why the EU persists in getting mardy with MS for bundling things with their OS yet allows proper anti competitive behaviour like this.
  6. Zarch

    Zarch Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    3,322
    Trophy Points:
    136
    Ratings:
    +854

Share This Page