Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

  1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Loewe Xelos A 32 question

Discussion in 'LCD & LED LCD TVs' started by laurad, Apr 27, 2005.

  1. laurad

    laurad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi all,
    I'm an italian girl and I'm getting married in two weeks. So I'm choosing my new TV. I read a lot of articles in this forum about lcd tv. I'm looking for a 32 lcd tv and my budget is 3000 euro.
    Well, I have read a lot of articles about loewe and it seems to me that loewe is the best in this sector. Is that rigth? I'm interested in xelos A 32 (in italy the cost is 2890 euro). Reading various post, it seems to me that this tv has a good PQ and sound. (well I have a pioneer dcs 525 as home theatre). It is HD ready too. It has two scart and both are RGB, a YUV in and HDMI.
    But I have a question that nobody has made.
    I know that with xelos A 32, the PQ with high definition signal is very good, but how is the PQ with analogue TV? This isn't a sally question because in italy it is true that we have sky but many families use analogue tv.
    So I think that HD is important and it is important that a tv is ready to receiving HD signals, but anologue tv is important too.
    For example sony with his wega engine solves many problems about analogue tv.
    Sorry for my english......
    Can someone give me some information?

    Bye

    Laura
  2. laurad

    laurad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Can someone tell me something???? :confused:
    Please let me know your experience.
    :lease:
  3. neilmcl

    neilmcl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,218
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    The A32 is relatively new here so I'm not sure if there's many people with this model as yet. I'd too would be interested in any reviews as I have the A37 on my shortlist.

    BTW Congratulations on your upcoming wedding day.
  4. laurad

    laurad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Oh, loewe customer care told me that the A32 has a new panel but I didn't think that nobody has it...... :(
    In your opinion how is this LCD tv?
    Thanks for your congratulations .... :)
    :hiya:
  5. mo

    mo Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2000
    Messages:
    765
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +19
    hi,
    i'm also looking at a loewe lcd,but i'll happily look at marrying an lovely italian lady,if i can reach my goal!!
  6. neilmcl

    neilmcl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,218
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    The existing Loewe Xelos 32SL was up there with the best of the Sharps, Philips LCDs, the only downside was that it was quite a bit more expensive than the competition. I've heard that the new A32/37 shares the same panel thats going to be used in the new Sharp range coming out later in the year so I'm expecting good things. The price is also much more reasonable.

    Like I said I've not yet heard anyone that's got one yet nor read any magazine reviews but it should be a quality screen if it's anything like the existing Xelos range.
  7. odiwan

    odiwan Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    28
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Ratings:
    +0
    Hello Laurad and everybody

    here you have all the info in italian, Xelos A32 look great, my only question is, have it a separate box like the SL series?

    best regards from Santander, Spain
  8. neilmcl

    neilmcl Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2004
    Messages:
    6,218
    Trophy Points:
    103
    Ratings:
    +344
    The point of the A series from Loewe is that it's supposed to be their budget range with all electronics being integral to the screen hence No separate box and no chance of future upgrades which is one of the selling points of the SL series.
  9. laurad

    laurad Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Hi,
    yesterday I have decided to buy it!!! :clap:
    In the shop, I have compared xelos with sony and .... there is no match: Xelos PQ is much more better and ....it's HD Ready (HDMI).
    We tried to connect it to HD images (by denon) and it's fantastic. It's true that in italy HD Tv is not as in UK, but it will be here in one o two years.
    Loewe A series have integrated electronics but in my opinion is not a problem.
    The only problem is .... the cost: 2900 euro. :thumbsdow
    I phoned to loewe specialist and it adviced me to buy new series A instead of SL. The next year he told me that loewe will sell spheros series with integrated electronics .....
    In 10 days I'll receive my new Loewe and then I'll post my comments :thumbsup:

    bye and thanks to everybody

    :hiya:
  10. AGS

    AGS Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Laura - good choice.

    I am hesitating to order the A37 Xelos as it does not seem to have any mounting holes on the back to allow wall mounting with a standard wall bracket. Can anyone confirm ?
  11. ianh64

    ianh64 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +83
    If the A series is anything like the SL for mounting, it will use a propriertry mount. The tilt mechanism, allowing about 10 degrees up/down tilt is built into the Xelos but there is no swivel mechanism.

    The Loewe bracket is very well made and deceptively large and heavy. I purchased mine for £75 from Harrods which compared to other mounts, even third party ones, is quite reasonable. It took a couple of weeks to be delivered from Germany.

    I posted some information/pictures on my installation here

    -Ian
  12. AGS

    AGS Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Thanks Ian. I want to mount it in corner of room so was hoping to use an articulated bracket that allows pulling away from the wall and angling. I'll email loewe and see what they suggest.

    By the way, are you happy with your screen - whats the picture/audio quality like ?
  13. MokerJoker

    MokerJoker Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2002
    Messages:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Ratings:
    +6
    About the A37/A32: The specs say the A37 has two scarts. One supports component, one RGB and one S-Video. Can these types of input be freely assigned to any of the scarts? And do the scarts support composite?

    There's no DVI on the A37, but it has VGA. What resolutions does the A37 support?
  14. ianh64

    ianh64 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2004
    Messages:
    2,233
    Trophy Points:
    51
    Ratings:
    +83
    It has HDMI + VGA instead of a single DVI-I - but make sure that the VGA is for VGA PC input rather than the VGA input on the SL which is via the DVI-I connector - the VGA input on the SL is for their PC media option and cannot be used for a standard PC - this means that the DVI-I input handles both VGA-PC and DVI-D which is not ideal.

    It should in theory support any resolution that you care to throw at it, but I would suggest testing before relying on a particular resolution and timing.

    -Ian
  15. JuliaB

    JuliaB Guest

    Ratings:
    +0
    Laura
    Did you get your A32?
    I got mine yesterday and love it! analogue PQ is fine FYI. Have a look at the thread I started today (http://www.avforums.com/forums/showthread.php?t=211461) re EPG data - if you got the A32 with integrated DVB digital tuner. I would like to know if anyone else has had the same problem with the DVB.

    Regards
    Julia
    :devil:

Share This Page