Home Entertainment & Technology Resource

1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Lip Sync problem (Samsung)

Discussion in 'All-in-one Systems' started by dengriff, Jan 19, 2008.

1. dengriff

dengriff Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Have just bought Samsung 42 plasma and Samsung x200 home theatre.Connected via HDMI all perfect but when I also connect an optical cable to get the tv sound through the speakers the sound and picture are out of sync and sound sometimes goes completely.
    i am a complete novice any help much appreciated.
    Denis
  2. lfcmonkey

lfcmonkey Member

Ratings:
    +105
    Is this happening while watching a dvd or tv?
  3. dengriff

dengriff Member

Ratings:
    +0
    On TV only.
    just searched the net it looks like a common problem.
  4. kentish_lad

kentish_lad Member

Ratings:
    +217
    Its because you are coming out of the TV with optical, Use phonos if you TV has Phono out
  5. lfcmonkey

lfcmonkey Member

Ratings:
    +105
    If its sky you are watching then you need change the settings to delay the sound.

1) press services
    2) select system setup (number 4 on the list)
    3) select sound settings (number 2 on the list)
    4) go down to optical output delay and change it, i have a Samsung tv and found that 120ms was good for me but it may vary, so try 120 and if its still slightly out you'll have to tweak it a bit.
    5) remember to then select save new settings before exiting

Thats it job done, hope this helps. :clap:
  6. lfcmonkey

lfcmonkey Member

Ratings:
    +105
    Just one more thing, your optical lead does go from your sky box to the amp doesn't it??? :rolleyes: If not, it should!!!
  7. dengriff

dengriff Member

Ratings:
    +0
    Thank you all for your help it is much appreciated
    Denis
  8. Aceshigh

Aceshigh Member

Ratings:
    +7

How do,